Famous Boarding School Alumni

Use the table below to browse notable alumni from boarding schools around the world.

Famous Boarding School Alumni:

School Name
Notable School Alumni (Sample)
Bishop's College School
  • Hartland de Montarville Molson - was an Anglo-Quebecer statesman, Canadian Senator and a member of the prominent Molson family of brewers.
  • Jake Ebert - was a film producer, executive and financier. He was known for risk-taking and producing a consistently high caliber of movies including such award-winning titles as Chariots of Fire (1981, uncredited), Gandhi (1982), and Dances with Wolves (1990).
  • Philip Michael Ondaatje - is a Sri Lankan-born Canadian novelist and poet. He won the Booker Prize for his novel The English Patient, which was adapted into an Academy Award-winning film.
  • Reginald Aubrey Fessenden - a naturalized American citizen born in Quebec, Canada, was an inventor who performed pioneering experiments in radio, including early—and possibly the first—radio transmissions of voice and music.
  • Raymond C. Setlakwe - is a Canadian entrepreneur, lawyer, and former senator.
  • Norman Eric Webster - is a Canadian journalist: a former editor-in-chief of The Globe and Mail and The Gazette.
  • Tom Nütten - is a former American football guard who played eight seasons in the National Football League with the St. Louis Rams.
  • David Anthony Stuart Atkinson - was a Canadian baritone and New York Broadway actor/singer.
  • General Andrew George Latta McNaughton - was a Canadian scientist, army officer, cabinet minister, and diplomat.
  • Paul Almon - is a Canadian former television and motion picture screenwriter, director and producer, and since 1990 has been a novelist.
Choate Rosemary Hall
  • Adlai Stevenson ’18 - former U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations
  • John F. Kennedy ’35 - 35th President of the United States
  • Edward Albee ’46 - Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright
  • Robert D. McCallum Jr. ’64 - former U.S. Ambassador to Australia
  • Glenn Close ’65 - Emmy, Tony and Golden Globe Award-winning film and stage actress
  • Victoria J. Nuland ’79 - current U.S. State Department spokesperson, former U.S. Representative to NATO
  • Paul Giamatti ’85 - Emmy Award-winning broadway and film actor
  • Angela Ruggiero ’98 - fourtime Women’s Olympic Ice Hockey Champion
  • Chris Denorfia ’98 - center fielder for the San Diego Padres
  • Josephine Pucci ’09, Hilary Knight ’07 and Julie Chu ’01 - members of the 2012 U.S. Women's National Ice Hockey Team
Gould Academy
  • Sasha Rearick - U.S. Ski Team Men's Head Alpine Coach
  • Eric Bach - Member of Modern Gypsies: Compassionate Adventurerers
  • Brian Blake - Former CEO of Gucci, Prada, and Burberry
  • Arn Chorn-Pond - Cambodian refugee, founder of Cambodian Living Arts, and subject of the Emmy-nominated documentary The Flute Player.
Hillcrest Academy
  • G.T. Gunhus - 4 Star General and head of Military Chaplains during 9/11
Lake Forest Academy
  • Jean Harlow - Actress
  • Bix Biederbecke - Jazz cornet player
  • Bradley Russell Weinberger, - Oklahoma Supreme Court Justice
  • Bill Ayers - Political activist and professor at the University of Chicago
  • David Bradley - Film director
  • Bill Schulz - Panelist, writer, and producer on Fox News Channel's late night show, Red Eye w/ Greg Gutfeld
  • Judy Baar Topinka - Former Illinois State Treasurer
  • Frances Perkins - First female Secretary of Labor
Ojai Valley School
  • Barbara B. Smith (L35) - Ethnomusicologist, Professor Emeritus of Music, University of Hawaii
  • Robert Erburu (L46) - Former Chairman of the Board and CEO, Times Mirror
  • Michael Mondavi (L58) - Founder, Folio Wine Partners
  • Jeffrey Hyland (L63) - President, Hilton & Hyland, architectural historian and author
  • John Slavik (L66, U69) - Owner, Pinnacle Holdings, Inc.
  • Keith Carradine (U67) - Actor, composer, musician
  • David Lazarus (L74, U78) - American business and consumer columnist for the Los Angeles Times
  • Bruce Sommers (L79) - President of Sincbox Media
  • Mari Holden (L84, U88) - 2000 Olympic silver medalist, cycling
  • Tiana Coudray (L02,U06) - 2012 London Olympics, 2010 winner, USEA Gold Cup Series CIC3* division, Galway Downs International Horse Trials
Sparhawk School
  • Chaz Matses - Founder and Designer for clothing line Vicious History
Saint Michaels University School
  • Steve Nash '92 - Two-time NBA MVP, founder and president of the Steve Nash Foundation for growing health in kids
  • Stewart Butterfield '91 - Co-founder of Flickr
  • Kenneth Oppel '85 - Award-winning author
  • Manoj Sood '81 - Star of CBC's hit show
Loomis Chaffee School
  • George Schultz '38 - Former Secretary of State
  • Ella T. Grasso '36 - Former Governor of Connecticut
  • Arthur Ochs Sulzberger '45 - New York Times Chairman
  • Henry R. Kravis '63 - Financier; founding partner, Kohlberg Kravis Roberts & Co.
  • James Widdoes '72 - Actor, writer, and producer
  • Gretchen Ulion '90 - 1998 Winter Olympic Games US women's ice hockey Olympic gold medalist
  • John D. Rockefeller III '25 - Successful businessman and philanthropist
  • Winthrop Rockefeller '31 - Former governor of Arkansas
  • Jason Wu '01 - Fashion designer (designed First Lady Michelle Obama's inaugural ball gown and other pieces for the first lady)
  • Frank Bruni ’82 - Journalist, The New York Times and the New York Times Magazine
Williston Northampton School
  • Steve Porter ’97 - PorterHouse Media produces ESPN video mashups
  • G.P. Gromacki ’89 - Led Amherst College women's basketball team to the NCAA Division III championship, named Coach of the Year by D3hoops.com.
  • William S. Clark - UMass/Amherst President
  • Winthrop Crane - 40th Governor of Massachusetts, U.S. Senator
  • Brad Hall ’75 - Actor, producer, writer. Saturday Night Live Weekend Update anchor
  • Patrick Rissmiller - Professional hockey player, NHL NY Rangers forward
  • George Crockett Strong, Class of 1851 - U.S. Civil War General
  • Robert Samuelson ’63 - Economic columnist and journalist, editor for Newsweek and the Washington Post, author
  • George Stanley Hall - Psychologist, father of American Psychology
  • Tony Lavelli ’45 - First overall NBA draft pick, accordionist for the Harlem Globetrotters
Featured Schools
Featured Schools