Middlesex School

5.00 5 1 (20 reviews)
1400 Lowell Road
Concord, MA 01742
Tel: 978-371-6524
Gr: (Boarding) 9-12 | 395 students
Founded in 1901, and located in one of this country's most historic towns, Concord, Massachusetts, Middlesex aspires to help its students "find their promise" through immersion in a rigorous academic program, inclusive extracurricular programs in arts and athletics, and a commitment to service. Middlesex students are exposed to a breadth and depth of opportunities typically found at only a much larger school.
Over 145 classes include five languages, a much emulated Writing Program, and over 40 advanced and AP sections that wil stretch students intellectually as they pursue academic passions.
At Middlesex, everyone engages in cocurricular life, participating in a thriving arts program (including a third of the school performing via vocal, instrumental or dramatic groups) that ofters opportunities for the beginner to high-end artist; similarly, each student participates in athletics, and we have a home for both the elite athlete and those new to team sports.
All of this work takes place in a community strengthened by our shared commitment to five core values: honesty, respect, kindness, gratitude, and courage.

Alumni Reviews
  Review School

  • Review Description

  • Class of 2016
    5.00 Stars   8/11/2016
    Brown University
    The two primary aspects that I believe differentiate Middlesex (MX) from other independent schools are its class schedule and its student body composition. MX has a six day class schedule; every week, students have. . .

  • Class of 2015
    5.00 Stars   9/5/2015
    Cornell University
    The first unique aspect of Middlesex that comes to mind is our plaque tradition. It is and always has been a graduation requirement to carve a plaque and every single one is hung up. . .

  • Class of 2015
    5.00 Stars   9/5/2015
    Harvard College
    An aspect of Middlesex that truly sets it apart from other boarding schools is the strong relationships formed between the students and the faculty. Middlesex, probably by design, has it so that an individual can. . .

  • Class of 2014
    5.00 Stars   6/23/2014
    Amherst
    One aspect of Middlesex that makes it unique is the sense of community that exists between students, faculty, staff, and administrators. There is an incredible amount of support that stems from all sides and. . .

  • Class of 2013
    5.00 Stars   7/11/2013
    Stanford University
    One big thing that differentiates Middlesex from other boarding schools is the strength of its writing and English program. Middlesex's program is anchored by Writing Workshop, a program developed by the head of the English. . .
  • Show more reviews (15 reviews)

Top 20 Placements

Listed among the top 20 boarding schools (out of 322 schools) for:

Definition of Terms 
2016 School Data
Middlesex School Boarding School Avg.
School Focus College Prep College Preparatory
Grades Offered 9-12 9-12
School Type Co-ed Co-ed
Religious Affiliation Non-denominational Non-denominational
Year Founded 1901 1910
Campus Size 350 acres 120 acres

Student Body

Enrollment 395 students 298 students
% Students of Color
32%
20%
% International Students
12%
20%
% Students Boarding
70%
70%
Average SAT Score 2108 * National Avg. »View
Offers Post-Grad Year No No

Academics and Faculty

Saturday Classes Yes No
Frequency of Saturday Classes Weekly Weekly
Classroom Dress Code Casual Casual
Average Class Size 12 students 12
*National School Avg. » 20
Teacher : Student Ratio 1:4 1:7
# of AP / Advanced Courses Offered 23 16
ESL Courses Offered No Yes
% Faculty with Advanced Degree
70%
69%
Summer Program Offered No Yes

Finances

Endowment Size $236 million $16 million
Yearly Tuition
(Boarding Students)
$58,020
(No additional fees)
$50,800
Yearly Tuition
(Day Students)
$46,420 $28,500
% Students on Financial Aid
35%
35%
Avg. Financial Aid Grant $45,200 $21,500
Merit Scholarships Offered No No

Admission

Application Deadline Jan. 31 Jan. 15
Accepts Standardized Application No No
SSAT Required Yes Yes
Average Percentile SSAT 86 -
Acceptance Rate
18%
55%
Director of AdmissionsDouglas C. Price

AP / Advanced Courses

# of AP / Advanced Courses Offered 23 16
CoursesAP Art History , AP Biology, AP Calculus AB, AP Calculus BC, AP Chemistry, AP Chinese, AP Computer Science, AP English Literature, AP Environmental Science, AP Environmental Science, AP French Language, AP Government and Politics, AP Latin ( Vergil), AP Macroeconomics, AP Microeconomics, AP Music Theory, AP Physics B, AP Physics C, AP Spanish Language, AP Spanish Literature, AP Statistics, AP Studio Art, AP U.S. History

Sports

# Interscholastic Sports Offered 17 14
SportsAlpine Skiing, Baseball, Basketball, Crew, Cross Country, Dance, Field Hockey, Football, Golf, Ice Hockey, Lacrosse, Soccer, Squash, Tennis, Track and Field, Volleyball, Wrestling

Extracurriculars

Total Extracurricular Organizations 68 23
ExtracurricularsAlumni Ambassador, Amnesty International Club, Animation Club, Astronomy Club, Bateman's Bullfrogs, Bonsai Club, Chess Club, Children's Play, Chorus, Circle of Women, Common Sense (Environmental Organization), Community Service Club, Contemporary Chamber Ensemble, Cooking Club, Cowboys' Lunch, Diversity Club, Divine Visions (Step Dance), Fancy Dress Friday, Finance Club, Fishing Club, Freedom of Speech, French Club, Frisbee Club, Gay Straight Alliance (GSA), Horror Movie Club,

College Matriculation

Year: 2012 - 2016 10 Most Popular College Choices  (# Enrolled)
Boston College 23
Dartmouth College 16
Columbia University 15
Georgetown University 15
Colby College 13
Harvard University 13
University of Chicago 13
Trinity College 12
Amherst College 10
Vanderbilt University 10

School Notes

  • Middlesex School Mission and History
  • Frederick Winsor wanted the school he founded in 1901 to be distinct from the boarding schools of the time, and from its beginnings, Middlesex School has occupied a unique place in the independent school landscape. It is a non-sectarian School with a positive sense of tradition and mission. It is a school with small-school intimacy and big-school opportunity, a school that early on sought students from every part of the country through a National Scholarship Program. As it has grown, Middlesex has broadened its national and international reach while always benefiting from its local surroundings-the human and cultural capital of the Boston/Cambridge area. Middlesex School, both in the present and in the past, has preferred capacity in many areas to specialization in one. We believe a transparent and familiar community is an ethical community. We believe in our students. From the start, Winsor`s mission was to "find the promise that lies hidden" in every student, and that message of individuality, hope, and possibility guides us today. Our campus, designed by the Olmsted Brothers firm, remains centered on its iconic circle. We are fortunate to live in a beautiful setting that naturally brings our paths and our lives together. Radiating from a common sense of place and purpose, Middlesex continues to prepare its students for a changing world. We have evolved in many ways since our founding over a century ago. We have undergone renovation, conservation, expansion, and constant transition in person and place. Yet our buildings, our fields, our programs, and our ethos still cleave to a human scale fostering collegiality and contact. Despite the school`s continuous transformation, our mission, with our students at the center, remains the same. 
  • School accreditations: New England Association of Schools and Colleges (NEASC)
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
People that viewed Middlesex School also viewed these schools: Deerfield Academy, Phillips Academy Andover, Groton School, Choate Rosemary Hall and The Hotchkiss School.
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 650 students 62.8 miles7 Boyden Lane
    DeerfieldMA 01342
    413-774-1400
    62.89-12, PG650
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 1150 students 16.1 miles180 Main Street
    AndoverMA 01810
    978-749-4050
    16.19-12, PG1150
  • Groton School
    (Episcopal)
    Grades: 8-12 | 380 students 13.1 miles282 Farmers Row, Box 991
    GrotonMA 01450
    978-448-7510
    13.18-12380
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 862 students 102.8 miles333 Christian Street
    WallingfordCT 06492
    203-697-2239
    102.89-12, PG862
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 598 students 112.4 miles11 Interlaken Road
    LakevilleCT 06039
    (860) 435-3102
    112.49-12, PG598
Recent Articles
5 Steps for Choosing a Boarding School
November 20, 2016
Choosing a boarding school involves several steps. We guide you through the process and offer advice and help.
Boarding Schools at a Glance
November 17, 2016
If you are just beginning to explore boarding schools, this article will give you an overview of the subject. We also point out a couple of things to watch for as you begin your exploration.
Schools in the NEPSAC Founders League
November 09, 2016
The New England Preparatory School Athletic Council was founded in 1942. It has grown from eleven schools to over one hundred sixty schools. More about NEPSAC and private school sports here.
Featured Schools
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Country of Citizenship:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone: