EF Academy Torbay

5.00 5 1 (3 reviews)
Tel: 914-495-6028
EF House, Castle Road
Torquay 13, United Kingdom
  • Torbay is a beach resort area located on England`s Southwest coast, popular with British and international travelers alike.
  • The EF Academy campus is situated in a modern-day castle on a hill overlooking the resort city of Torquay.
  • In 2012, the campus opened a new state-of-the-art facilities with multimedia classrooms, technology center, interactive science labs, art studios, and student lounge and study areas.

Alumni Reviews
  Review School

  • Review Description

  • Class of 2016
    5 Stars   7/19/2016
    -
    We all are like a family and it makes our school unique, different from others. We are an international school, and we are here away from our families but coming to this school one can. . .

  • Class of 2015
    5 Stars   7/19/2016
    Cardiff University
    Being an International Private Boarding School in the UK, EF Academy Torbay offers the opportunity to get into world renowned universities for students who have the willingness to study overseas. Guided and taught by experienced. . .

  • Class of 2015
    5 Stars   12/7/2015
    University of Westminster
    Hello, my name is Olga Kornilova, I am from St. Petersburg, Russia. I finished my A-level program at EF Torbay this June. Without doubts I can say - that was an absolutely right decision to. . .

Top 20 Placements

Listed among the top 20 boarding schools (out of 328 schools) for:

Definition of Terms 
2017 School Data
EF Academy Torbay
School FocusCollege Preparatory
Grades (Boarding)Grades 9-12
School TypeCo-ed
Supports Learning Differences (LD)Yes
Religious AffiliationNon-denom. / Christian
Year Founded2005

Student Body

Enrollment200 students
% International Students
99%

Academics and Faculty

Saturday ClassesYes
Classroom Dress CodeCasual
Average Class Size13 students
Teacher : Student Ratio1:5
Number of AP Courses Offeredn/a
Number of IB Courses Offered28
ESL Courses OfferedYes
% Faculty with Advanced Degree
90%
Summer Program OfferedYes

Finances

Endowment Sizen/a
Yearly Tuition
(Boarding Students)
$39,650
(Shared student dormitories, 2 meals daily)
Yearly Tuition
(Day Students)
$33,100
(Twin room in host family, 2 meals daily)
Merit Scholarships OfferedYes

Admission

Application DeadlineJan. 31 / Mar. 15 / rolling
Accepts Standardized ApplicationNo
Director of AdmissionsJason M. Kirschner
Associate Director of AdmissionsLauren Utnick

Course Listings

List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses

Sports

# Interscholastic Sports Offered3 Interscholastic Sports
SportsBasketball, Sailing, Soccer

Extracurriculars

Total Extracurricular Organizations18 Extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsBasketball Club, Chess Club, Climbing Club, Cooking Club, Dance Club, Design Club, Duke of Edinburgh Award, Film Club, Fitness Club, French Club, Gardening Club, Guitar Club, Maths Challenge, Music Club, School Magazine, Soccer, Spanish Club, Ultimate Frisbee

College Matriculation

Year: 10 Most Popular College Choices  (# Enrolled)
Link to Matriculation Data

School Notes

  • Among friends and faculty from the US and around the world, EF Academy International Boarding School aims to prepare students not only for future educational success, but also to create true global citizens through 21st century learning and unparalleled intercultural immersion. EF Academy also offers an unprecedented global campus rotation option among its three international locations: Thornwood, New York; Oxford, England; and Torquay, England.
  • Local Goes Global
  • Our students come from more than 75 countries, including the United Kingdom while our faculty represents over 40 countries. This unique atmosphere provides students with an advantageous experience, one that enhances their worldview in addition to their resume. We emphasize areas of study such as languages, cross-cultural communication, sciences and world history that are increasingly in demand in the global marketplace, and is conveniently located on the beautiful English Rivera in Torquay, England.
  • IB Advantage
  • According to the International Baccalaureate Organization (IBO), students who participate in IB Programs are more than twice as likely to be accepted to the Top 50 universities in the United States. With over 30 IB course offerings, EF Academy is proud to be an IB World School. Students in EF Academy programs have earned places at top universities including Oxford, Cambridge, University of Michigan, Columbia, University of Southern California, Columbia, St. Andrew's, NYU, UCLA, Williams College, Johns Hopkins University, University of Virigina, and UC Berkeley.
  • Worldwide Leader in Education
  • EF Academy is a division of EF Education First, a global leader in the field of international education. Founded in 1965, EF Education First is the largest private educational organization in the world. EF`s Hult International Business School is ranked among the Financial Times` top 100 business schools. EF is also well known for its study-abroad and language programs, and it has cared for and educated thousands of young people in during is near 50-year history.
  • LD types supported: Mild ADD/ADHD, Others case-by-case basis
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Grades: 11-12 | 200 students 133.8 milesPullens Lane Headington
    OxfordUnited Kingdom 30
    914-495-6028
    133.811-12200
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 515 students 4724.2 miles2735 Mt. Baker Road
    Mill Bay, BC V0R 2P1Canada 1
    1-250-743-5521
    4724.29-12, PG515
  • Grades: 9-12 | 260 students 3070.1 miles80 chemin Moulton Hill
    Sherbrooke, QuebecCanada J1M 1Z8
    819-566-0238
    3070.19-12260
  • Grades: 9-12

    4-12 (day)
     | 715 students
    3223 miles362 Mariposa Avenue
    OttawaCanada K1M0T3
    613-749-9630
    32239-12

    4-12 (day)
    715
  • Grades: 9-12 | 75 students 722.4 milesSlovenska 477/5
    Karlovy VaryCzech Republic 36001
    00420353227387
    722.49-1275
Recent Articles
The St. Grottlesex Schools
September 05, 2017
Generous financial aid and a commitment to diversity are hallmarks of the 21st century release of St. Grottlesex. More here.
Boarding Schools with IB Programs
August 29, 2017
The International Baccalaureate programmes cover the entire K-12 spectrum with three distinct educational curricula. In this article, we focus on American private high schools which offer the Diploma Programme.
12 Boarding Schools Costing Less Than $20,000
August 29, 2017
Here then are a dozen boarding schools which charge approximately $20,000 per year or less for tuition, room and board.
Featured Schools
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Country of Citizenship:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone: