EF Academy Torbay

Alumni Reviews
  Review School

  • Review Description

  • Class of 2016
    5 Stars   7/19/2016
    -
    We all are like a family and it makes our school unique, different from others. We are an international school, and we are here away from our families but coming to this school one can. . .

  • Class of 2015
    5 Stars   7/19/2016
    Cardiff University
    Being an International Private Boarding School in the UK, EF Academy Torbay offers the opportunity to get into world renowned universities for students who have the willingness to study overseas. Guided and taught by experienced. . .

  • Class of 2015
    5 Stars   12/7/2015
    University of Westminster
    Hello, my name is Olga Kornilova, I am from St. Petersburg, Russia. I finished my A-level program at EF Torbay this June. Without doubts I can say - that was an absolutely right decision to. . .

Top 20 Placements

Listed among the top 20 boarding schools (out of 323 schools) for:

Definition of Terms 
2017 School Data
EF Academy Torbay
School FocusCollege Preparatory
Grades (Boarding)Grades 9-12
School TypeCo-ed
Religious AffiliationNon-denom. / Christian
Year Founded2005

Student Body

Enrollment270 students
% International Students
100%
% Students Boarding
75%

Academics and Faculty

Saturday ClassesNo
Classroom Dress CodeCasual
Average Class Size13 students
Teacher : Student Ratio1:5
Number of AP Courses Offeredn/a
Number of IB Courses Offered28
ESL Courses OfferedYes
% Faculty with Advanced Degree
90%
Summer Program OfferedYes

Finances

Endowment Sizen/a
Yearly Tuition
(Boarding Students)
$40,300
(Shared student dormitories, 2 meals daily)
Yearly Tuition
(Day Students)
$33,500
(Twin room in host family, 2 meals daily)
Merit Scholarships OfferedYes

Admission

Application DeadlineFeb. 1
Accepts Standardized ApplicationNo
Director of AdmissionsJason M. Kirschner
Associate Director of AdmissionsLauren Blankstein

Course Listings

List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses

Sports

# Interscholastic Sports Offered3 Interscholastic Sports
SportsBasketball, Soccer, Swimming

Extracurriculars

Total Extracurricular Organizations18 Extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsClub or Organization:
Chess Club, Cooking Club, Duke of Edinburgh Award, French Club, Gardening Club, Maths Challenge, School Magazine, Spanish Club

Arts and Music Programs:
Design Club, Film Club, Guitar Club, Music Club

Recreational Athletic Programs:
Basketball Club, Climbing Club, Dance Club, Fitness Club, Soccer, Ultimate Frisbee

College Matriculation

Year: 10 Most Popular College Choices  (# Enrolled)
Link to Matriculation Data

School Notes

  • Among friends and faculty from the US and around the world, EF Academy International Boarding School aims to prepare students not only for future educational success, but also to create true global citizens through 21st century learning and unparalleled intercultural immersion. EF Academy also offers an unprecedented global campus rotation option among its three international locations: Thornwood, New York; Oxford, England; and Torquay, England.
  • Local Goes Global
  • Our students come from more than 75 countries, including the United Kingdom while our faculty represents over 40 countries. This unique atmosphere provides students with an advantageous experience, one that enhances their worldview in addition to their resume. We emphasize areas of study such as languages, cross-cultural communication, sciences and world history that are increasingly in demand in the global marketplace, and is conveniently located on the beautiful English Rivera in Torquay, England.
  • IB Advantage
  • According to the International Baccalaureate Organization (IBO), students who participate in IB Programs are more than twice as likely to be accepted to the Top 50 universities in the United States. With over 30 IB course offerings, EF Academy is proud to be an IB World School. Students in EF Academy programs have earned places at top universities including Oxford, Cambridge, University of Michigan, Columbia, University of Southern California, Columbia, St. Andrew's, NYU, UCLA, Williams College, Johns Hopkins University, University of Virigina, and UC Berkeley.
  • Worldwide Leader in Education
  • EF Academy is a division of EF Education First, a global leader in the field of international education. Founded in 1965, EF Education First is the largest private educational organization in the world. EF`s Hult International Business School is ranked among the Financial Times` top 100 business schools. EF is also well known for its study-abroad and language programs, and it has cared for and educated thousands of young people in during is near 50-year history.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Grades: 11-12 | 160 students 133.8 milesPullens Lane Headington
    OxfordUnited Kingdom 30
    914-495-6028
    133.811-12160
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 515 students 4724.2 miles2735 Mt. Baker Road
    Mill Bay, BC V0R 2P1Canada 1
    1-250-743-5521
    4724.29-12, PG515
  • Grades: 9-12 | 260 students 3070.1 miles80 chemin Moulton Hill
    Sherbrooke, QuebecCanada J1M 1Z8
    819-566-0238
    3070.19-12260
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 400 students 146.1 milesColdharbour Lane
    Thorpe, Surrey TW20 8TEUnited Kingdom tw20 8te
    44 0 1932 582316
    146.19-12, PG400
  • Grades: 9-12

    4-12 (day)
     | 715 students
    3223 miles362 Mariposa Avenue
    OttawaCanada K1M0T3
    613-749-9630
    32239-12

    4-12 (day)
    715
Recent Articles
What Makes Boarding School Special?
January 16, 2018
Several things make boarding school special. The learning, the community, the sports. All these and more.
Why a Progressive School?
January 16, 2018
Sending your son or daughter to a progressive school sounds like a real leap of faith. It is, that is, until you look more closely at the kind of education your child will receive. Then you will understand the idealism in action which progressive schools embody.
What's Your Marketing Team Doing This Summer?
January 16, 2018
The ideas and suggestions offered here are aimed at the small to medium-sized schools which have limited marketing resources.
Featured Schools
Request Information
I am a:
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Country of Citizenship:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone: