The Putney School

5.00 5 1 (7 reviews)
418 Houghton Brook Road
Putney, VT 05346
Tel: 802-387-6219
Gr: (Boarding) 9-12, PG | 230 students
previous
The Putney School is located on a working dairy farm. We value the dignity and relevance of physical work, which shows through our Work Program. Students carry out daily chores, collaborate in teams, learn skills, and sometimes lead crews various areas: Barn, Kitchen, Land-Use, Dining & Maintenance.
next
The Putney School is located on a working dairy farm. We value the dignity and relevance of physical work, which shows through our Work Program. Students carry out daily chores, collaborate in teams, learn skills, and sometimes lead crews various areas: Barn, Kitchen, Land-Use, Dining & Maintenance.
We are not a 'prep' school. While many of our students head off to the top colleges in the country, their experiences at Putney are about engaging material, expanding interests, and gaining tools, not 'preparing' to be somewhere else.
Art is a part of every student's daily life. We take the arts seriously while supporting a spirit of discovery. We offer 20 art forms, including blacksmithing, ceramics, chorus, creative writing, dance, drama, fiber arts, jazz, jewelry, orchestra, Latin dance, photography, sculpture, stained glass & woodworking.
Sustainability is at the center of a Putney education.
It is embedded in our campus, our community,
and our curriculum. We are located on a 500-acre
working dairy farm in southeastern Vermont, this serves as a laboratory and partner for studying the world around us and applying the lessons we learn about ecology, forestry, energy and agriculture.
The community at  Putney is warm, open, mutually respectful and rousing. We come together as a whole school three times per week. Every Thursday is All School Sing (pictured here), a tradition dating back to Putney's founding in the 30's, which spans a fun and eclectic assortment of styles from early American folk music to sea chanteys to Korean traditional
Putney is a co-educational boarding and day school for Grades 9-12 founded in 1935 by Carmelita Hinton. We are a progressive school, in that we value the idea that education is something to be actively pursued rather than passively received. Our commitment to Ms. Hinton's fundamental beliefs have have put Putney at the leading edge of education in America.
  • Putney is about living fully: intellectual engagement, creative play, progressive learning for a sustainable future.

Alumni Reviews
  Review School

  • Review Description

  • Class of 2016
    5 Stars   12/10/2016
    Gap Year
    Putney is a coeducational boarding and day school in Vermont. It values and practices progressive education, and has a diverse and rigorous curriculum. It boasts a strong academic program, along with a work job program. . .

  • Class of 2015
    5 Stars   11/29/2016
    University of Maine
    Hands on discussion based learning as well as a focus on the individual. Relationships between students and teachers were much my friendly. Also real working experience (cooking food, working in the barn). . .

  • Class of 2011
    5 Stars   7/12/2012
    Vassar College
    Putney is truly an experience unlike any other; an educational environment that develops strong thinkers and problem solvers. The faculty and core values foster creativity, support independence and growth, and ensure that students at once. . .

  • Class of 2010
    5 Stars   7/8/2010
    Columbia University
    The sense community at Putney is just incredible. Sometimes I forget that I am at with students and teachers. I see them all as part of my family now and I find myself using the. . .

  • Class of 2009
    5 Stars   7/8/2010
    Dartmouth College
    Putney is SO unique for a host of reasons, such as its small size, strong arts program, "project week" (which I will describe later), and its funky, spirited, and diverse student body. But its most. . .
  • Show more reviews (2 reviews)

Top 20 Placements

Listed among the top 20 boarding schools (out of 327 schools) for:

Definition of Terms 
2016 School Data
The Putney School Boarding School Avg.
School Focus College Prep College Preparatory
Grades Offered 9-12, PG 11-12
School Type Co-ed Co-ed
Supports Learning Differences (LD) Yes Yes
Religious Affiliation Non-denominational Non-denominational
Year Founded 1935 1910
Campus Size 500 acres 120 acres

Student Body

Enrollment 230 students 298 students
% Students of Color
14%
20%
% International Students
23%
20%
% Students Boarding
75%
70%
Average SAT Score 1725 * National Avg. »View
SAT range (25th-75th percentile) 1580 - 1890 -
Offers Post-Grad Year Yes No

Academics and Faculty

Saturday Classes Yes No
Frequency of Saturday Classes Weekly Weekly
Classroom Dress Code Casual Casual
Average Class Size 12 students 12
*National School Avg. » 20
Teacher : Student Ratio 1:6 1:7
# of AP / Advanced Courses Offered 10 16
ESL Courses Offered Yes Yes
% Faculty with Advanced Degree
73%
69%
Summer Program Offered Yes Yes

Finances

Endowment Size $16 million $16 million
Yearly Tuition
(Boarding Students)
$53,800 $51,250
Yearly Tuition
(Day Students)
$33,500 $27,825
% Students on Financial Aid
43%
35%
Avg. Financial Aid Grant $23,000 $21,275
Merit Scholarships Offered No No

Admission

Application Deadline None / Rolling Jan. 15
Accepts Standardized Application No No
SSAT Required Yes Yes
Director of AdmissionsJohn Barrengos
Associate Director of AdmissionsLois Barber

Course Listings

List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses

Sports

# Interscholastic Sports Offered 7 14
SportsBasketball, Crew, Cycling, Lacrosse, Nordic Skiing, Soccer, Ultimate Frisbee

Extracurriculars

Total Extracurricular Organizations 9 23
ExtracurricularsAlpine Skiing & Snowboarding, Chamber, Drama Club, Fencing Club, Literary, Madrigals, Mountain, Orchestra, Yearbook

College Matriculation

Year: 2007 - 2011 10 Most Popular College Choices  (# Enrolled)
Smith College 11
Bard College 6
Barnard College 6
University of Vermont 6
Marlboro College 5
Sarah Lawrence College 5
Carnegie Mellon University 4
Dartmouth College 4
Mount Holyoke College 4
Rhode Island School of Design 4
Link to Matriculation Data

School Notes

  • The Putney School is designed for independent, motivated, and capable students seeking intellectual freedom, responsibility and opportunities for competence in a variety of fields. The school's 500-acre campus is situated on a working Vermont dairy farm that supports a rich curriculum in sustainability. Putney`s vigorous liberal arts program prepares students for top colleges and the real world.
  • LD types supported: Mild Learning Differences
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 650 students 22 milesOne Lamplighter Way
    Mount HermonMA 01354
    413-498-3227
    229-12, PG650
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 240 students 10.9 miles10 Long Walk
    Saxtons RiverVT 05154
    8028696229
    10.99-12, PG240
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 360 students 48.2 miles204 Main Street - P.O. Box 500
    AndoverNH 03216
    603-735-6212
    48.29-12, PG360
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 862 students 106.5 miles333 Christian Street
    WallingfordCT 06492
    203-697-2239
    106.59-12, PG862
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 1150 students 75.7 miles180 Main Street
    AndoverMA 01810
    978-749-4050
    75.79-12, PG1150
Recent Articles
Spotlight on Sports
March 16, 2017
Explore the incredible variety of athletics which schools offer. Athletics are not optional in boarding school. Athletics are one part of a comprehensive program most schools adopt to educate the whole child in mind, body and spirit.
Looking at Schools
March 15, 2017
"Do you like large schools or small schools? Are you most comfortable in a city, small town or countryside? Are you interested in attending a school that has a religious or military orientation? Would you like to attend a school that is only for boys or girls? These are some questions you must ask yourself before you begin your search for the right U.S. boarding school for you..." Brought to you by Boarding Schools in the USA
Recruitment Fairs
March 15, 2017
North American boarding schools regularly send admissions staff overseas to hold recruitment fairs in your area.
Featured Schools
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Country of Citizenship:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone: