5.00 5 1 (5 reviews)
PO Box 2006
Kent, CT 06757
Tel: 860-927-6111
Gr: (Boarding) 9-12, PG | 570 students
For over 100 years, Kent has followed our school motto: Simplicity of Life, Directness of Purpose and Self-Reliance.
Located in the Northwest corner of Connecticut in the foothills of the Berkshire Mountains along the banks of the Housatonic River, Kent is rich in tradition and innovation.
Founded by an Episcopal monk, we maintain our affiliation with the church while developing to address the changing world our graduates enter.
570 girls and boys excel in our rigorous academic environment with the help of knowledgeable, supportive teachers.
Many of our faculty have advanced degrees and our average tenure is more than a dozen years.
Students prepare for the world`s top colleges and universities with an extensive liberal arts curriculum and competitive art, music and athletic programs.
We study in 27 AP subjects, rare courses like Mandarin Chinese, Irish Drama, Genetics & Biotechnology, our new Pre-Engineering program and our extensive club and extracurricular offerings.
A Kent student`s days are filled with opportunities to learn and grow, both inside and outside of the classroom.
We come from 35 states and 40 countries.
90 percent of students live on campus.
Our faculty largely live here, too and together build our active, engaging campus community seven days a week.
In fact, service to the community is a significant part of life at Kent.
Temperantia, Fiducia, Constantia.

Alumni Reviews
  Review School

  • Review Description

  • Class of 2016
    5.00 Stars   11/5/2016
    Eckerd College
    The physical campus and surrounding areas of Kent School truly brought the campus to another level that few other schools had. The campus itself is set up so that the academic and residential buildings are. . .

  • Class of 2015
    5.00 Stars   11/29/2016
    Vanderbilt University
    While Kent School fits the mold of a traditional boarding school, one thing that really sets us apart is the setting. Nestled in Housatonic Valley, students are always within a 5 minute walk of each. . .

  • Class of 2010
    5.00 Stars   7/8/2010
    Johns Hopkins University
    The school has designated time periods every week that are similar to office hours called "Conference Periods." During these time periods I found a method of connecting with my teachers and better understanding the academic. . .

  • Class of 2007
    5.00 Stars   11/8/2007
    Southern Methodist University
    The relaxed attitude of the student body leads to a comfortable work atmosphere. Unlike the stories I hear of other schools, as a student at Kent I never felt that I was in competition. . .

  • Class of 2005
    5.00 Stars   6/22/2009
    University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
    I found that Kent was a great blend of academics, athletics, arts, and fun social life. It was truly possible to do it all - be in the honors classes, play varsity athletics, go to. . .

Top 20 Placements

Listed among the top 20 boarding schools (out of 323 schools) for:

Definition of Terms 
2016 School Data
Kent School Boarding School Avg.
School Focus College Prep College Preparatory
Grades Offered 9-12, PG 9-12
School Type Co-ed Co-ed
Religious Affiliation Episcopal Non-denominational
Year Founded 1906 1910
Campus Size 1200 acres 120 acres

Student Body

Enrollment 570 students 298 students
% Students of Color
15%
20%
% International Students
29%
20%
% Students Boarding
91%
70%
Average SAT Score n/a * National Avg. »View
Offers Post-Grad Year Yes No

Academics and Faculty

Saturday Classes Yes No
Frequency of Saturday Classes Weekly Weekly
Classroom Dress Code Formal Casual
Average Class Size 12 students 12
*National School Avg. » 20
Teacher : Student Ratio 1:7 1:7
# of AP / Advanced Courses Offered 25 16
ESL Courses Offered Yes Yes
% Faculty with Advanced Degree
63%
69%
Summer Program Offered Yes Yes

Finances

Endowment Size $80 million $16 million
Yearly Tuition
(Boarding Students)
$58,450 $50,800
Yearly Tuition
(Day Students)
$46,300 $28,500
% Students on Financial Aid
43%
35%
Avg. Financial Aid Grant $35,100 $21,500
Merit Scholarships Offered Yes No

Admission

Application Deadline Jan. 15 / rolling Jan. 15
Accepts Standardized Application Yes No
SSAT Required Yes Yes
Average Percentile SSAT 70 -
Acceptance Rate
39%
55%
Director of AdmissionsSarah Gleason Ross

Course Listings

List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses

Sports

# Interscholastic Sports Offered 18 14
SportsBaseball, Basketball, Crew, Cross Country, Dance, Diving, Equestrian, Field Hockey, Football, Golf, Ice Hockey, Lacrosse, Mountain Biking, Soccer, Softball, Squash, Swimming, Tennis

Extracurriculars

Total Extracurricular Organizations 57 23
ExtracurricularsAmnesty International Club, Animal Rights Club, Art Club, Bell Ringing Guild, Buddhist Club, Chapel, Chess Club, Club Soccer, Club Squash, Club Tennis, Coding Club, Concert Club, Dance Club, Debate Club, Diversity Club, Environment Club, Fellowship of Christians at Universities and Schools (FOCUS), Fitness Club, French Club, Gay Straight Alliance (GSA), Habitat for Humanity, Heifer International, Hillel Society, International Club, Investment Club,

College Matriculation

Year: 2013 - 2015 10 Most Popular College Choices  (# Enrolled)
New York University 15
George Washington University 14
Syracuse University 12
Colby College 11
University of California at Berkeley 10
Connecticut College 8
Hobart and William Smith Colleges 8
United States Naval Academy 8
Boston University 7
Cornell University 7

School Notes

  • School accreditations: New England Association of Schools and Colleges, National Association of Independant Schools, National Association of Episcopal Schools
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
People that viewed Kent School also viewed these schools: The Hotchkiss School, Choate Rosemary Hall, Deerfield Academy, The Loomis Chaffee School and Westminster School.
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 598 students 21.4 miles11 Interlaken Road
    LakevilleCT 06039
    (860) 435-3102
    21.49-12, PG598
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 862 students 36.7 miles333 Christian Street
    WallingfordCT 06492
    203-697-2239
    36.79-12, PG862
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 650 students 76.7 miles7 Boyden Lane
    DeerfieldMA 01342
    413-774-1400
    76.79-12, PG650
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 650 students 45.5 milesOffice of Admission
    WindsorCT 06095
    860-687-6400
    45.59-12, PG650
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 390 students 39.3 miles995 Hopmeadow Street
    SimsburyCT 06070
    860-408-3060
    39.39-12, PG390
Recent Articles
5 Steps for Choosing a Boarding School
November 20, 2016
Choosing a boarding school involves several steps. We guide you through the process and offer advice and help.
Boarding Schools at a Glance
November 17, 2016
If you are just beginning to explore boarding schools, this article will give you an overview of the subject. We also point out a couple of things to watch for as you begin your exploration.
Schools in the NEPSAC Founders League
November 09, 2016
The New England Preparatory School Athletic Council was founded in 1942. It has grown from eleven schools to over one hundred sixty schools. More about NEPSAC and private school sports here.
Featured Schools
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Country of Citizenship:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone: