Oldfields School

5.00 5 1 (12 reviews)
1500 Glencoe Road
Sparks Glencoe, MD 21152
previous
next
Oldfields School Photo #1 - Our community has a wonderful reopening experience under our belts, and we are looking forward to the months ahead! Oldfields is operating on campus and in person for the 2020-2021 school year. Application Fee Waiver Code: OSBSR
Oldfields School Photo #2 - Learn about our rich 150+ year history of educating young women. Oldfields School was one of the first to teach science and athletics to girls.
Oldfields School Photo #3 - Oldfields' campus is 130 acres located in Maryland's scenic horse country, and is close to cultural centers including Washington, DC, Baltimore, Philadelphia, and New York City and only 30 minutes from the international airport, BWI.
Oldfields School Photo #4 - Oldfields Riding has been a vibrant part of the community for over 150 years. Our program is dedicated to creating an environment that helps each student reach her riding goals whether they are just beginning, very experienced, or anywhere in between.
Oldfields School Photo #5 - Our mission at Oldfields is to provide an environment that allows each girl to make the most of her academic and personal potential. The academic program is designed to be rigorous and challenging, as well as personal and supportive. Oldfields offers a complete college preparatory curriculum.
Oldfields School Photo #6 - May Program is a two-week experiential learning experience that complements the academic curriculum. This program takes students across our community, our country, or the world. These two offer self-discovery, leadership, and confidence-building; another step in ensuring each girl's success.
Oldfields School Photo #7 - Whether students enter Oldfields with little or no experience in that arts or with years of expertise and training, every effort is made to expose Oldfields girls to a wide variety of dance, theatre, music, and visual arts. A wide array of academic courses, clubs, or extracurricular opportunities are offered.
Oldfields School Photo #8 - Oldfields athletics emphasizes the value of each individual and respect for others. We stress teamwork, sportsmanship, personal commitment, reachable goal setting, and appreciation for lifetime activity.
Oldfields School Photo #9 - Become a global citizen as you learn, live, and laugh with students from across the country and around the world.
Oldfields School Photo #10 - Traditions are what tie generations of Oldfields girls together. The traditions are unveiled for each new girl to experience and enjoy when she arrives. Each serves as a healthy and appropriate rite of passage, through which memories are made, leaders are born, and lessons are learned.
At Oldfields School, we understand teenage girls. We believe in their power, both individually and collectively.
Every day, our girls build self-confidence because we empower them to take risks - participate in new experiences, advocate for themselves, lead by example, and strengthen their identity.
The world needs more Oldfields graduates because our motivated, informed, kind, and courageous young women know how to navigate and lead in an increasingly complex world.

Upcoming Events and News

  • Spotlight: Director of Health Services Darla Carter - 03/31/2021 - Director of Health Services Darla Carter joined the Oldfields community in early September and has navigated this year, one unlike any other, with patience and expertise. Darla is extremely passionate ...moreabout her work on campus advocating and caring for our students and faculty, while off campus, advocating for accessibility through her own nonprofit. Sweet-natured (and with a sweet tooth) she makes our campus a safer and more resilient place.
    Darla`s love for the children she worked with, along with her passion for equal access, led to her starting a nonprofit, Room 17, which advocates for accessible bathrooms for people with disabilities. In her role as the founder and Board President of Room 17, Darla has also spent the past two years networking with lawyers and congressmen, speaking at events, and has been a guest panelist for American Public Health Association in Washington, DC. While the pandemic has paused some of the work that she is doing, Darla has found a way to use her platform to advocate for safety measures in and around COVID-19 and get supplies to people and organizations who really need it.
    hide
  • Guest Speaker Mrs. Antoinette Dempsey-Waters: African American History Is Our History - 03/08/2021 - On Friday, February 26, Oldfields Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee hosted guest speaker Mrs. Antoinette Dempsey-Waters for an interview with our community on the importance of African American studies, the ...morerole economics play, and how the Black experience shapes American History. Mrs. Waters has spent the past 13 years teaching in Northern Virginia. She is the creator of the African American History Curriculum for Arlington Public Schools and one of the co-authors of the African American Curriculum for the state of Virginia. Mrs. Waters earned her B.A. in History and Secondary Education from Temple University and a M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction from George Mason University. Her work has been featured in a variety of nationally recognized publications. Diana Santos `21, senior and member of the student DEI Committee, led the interview with Mrs. Waters. hide
  • Faculty Spotlight on Shawn Wright: Arts, Activism, and a Love of Learning - 03/03/2021 - Originally from Pennsylvania, Shawn has spent most of her life in the picturesque small town of Doylestown. Shawn grew up riding horses and attending summer camps, and it was in ...morethe 10th grade when she was cast as Meg in her high school production of Brigadoon that Shawn fell in love with theatre. After earning her BFA from Rider University, Shawn committed to becoming an actor and lived in both Princeton, New Jersey, and New York City, making a living doing what she loved--being on stage. Paired with her passion for theatre was one for social justice. As a teenager during the AIDS crisis in the mid-1980s Shawn shares "I must have been 17 or 18, and I would be at rehearsal with someone one day, and then the next day they would be gone." It was in these moments that Shawn began to realize how poorly some people are treated in comparison to others, and she was determined to be a part of the change. hide
  • Celebrating Academic Awards and More! - 02/23/2021 - The spirit of Oldfields was in the air at the Fall 2020 Awards Ceremony on February 15 as students spread out across the gymnasium floor waving green and white pom ...morepoms. The celebration had been delayed for a variety of reasons, but that did not diminish the enthusiasm as we finally gathered to honor the academic and athletic achievements of the students. Everyone was included, as remote students and faculty joined via Zoom. Faculty children held up cardboard headshots of the students who couldn`t be present to receive their award. Since we were in a celebratory mood, we took the opportunity to hold our mid-year Green and White Ceremony as well, welcoming our 12 new students to their respective teams. Having so many of us together in the same space felt both familiar and wonderful!
    Dr. Jeremy Jernigan, Dean of Academics, opened the academic awards recognizing that the students' accomplishments being awarded today were not simply for high performance, but also for curiosity, dedication, and hard work. This year, more than ever, they should feel proud that they are here, committed to learning, and making the best of an extremely challenging year.
    hide
  • Dialogue in Athletics: Fostering Inclusivity in Sports - 02/15/2021 - Here at Oldfields, learning happens both in and out of the classroom. From attitude and accountability to commitment and teamwork, some of the biggest life lessons are taught on the ...morestage, on the athletic fields, and in the riding ring. The young athletes at Oldfields look up to their coaches as mentors and guides throughout their time here. Their coaches believe in and commit to educating the whole child. And in turn, our students create unique bonds with their coaches and teammates, allowing important dialogues to happen within these unique spaces. Oldfields is committed to having our coaches be prepared when those "teachable moments" arise. That is why Athletic Director Gaby Davis arranged to have coaches and eventually students participate in a six-session program Dialogue in Athletics, led by Jill Kochanek* (currently a PhD candidate in sports psychology and former Oldfields teacher and soccer coach) and Dalvida Palmer '15** (former Oldfields athlete and All-School President). Thanks to the strong coach/athlete bonds that developed during their time at Oldfields, Jill and Dalvida remained in touch. They recently reconnected, given their shared passion for social justice work and the deep desire to promote diversity, equity, inclusion, and justice in sports. The result was Dialogue in Athletics, the curriculum of which is adapted from Michigan State University`s similar program. Dialogue in Athletics is "a leadership and social justice education program that aims to teach student-athletes and coaches skills to foster inclusive, empowering cultures and experiences in sports." hide

Alumni Reviews
  Review School

  • Review Description

  • Class of 2019
    5 Stars  
    St. Lawrence University
    I would say that the two most prominent thing that make Oldfields unique is May Program. May Program is a learning opportunity for all students whether that be at Oldfields, in the United States, or. . .

  • Class of 2018
    5 Stars  
    Shenandoah University
    One aspect that O.S has that no other school is how our school is split into Green or White Teams. These team all year have a friendly competition that not only helps you make friends. . .

  • Class of 2017
    5 Stars  
    Muhlenberg College
    I don't know what other boarding schools are like, but the teachers and coaches at Oldfields cared about me learning, growing, and being happy in a way I never could have imagined. I was surrounded. . .
  • Show more reviews (9 reviews)

Top 20 Placements

Oldfields School is listed among the top 20 boarding schools (out of 305 schools) for:

Definition of Terms
 | 2020 School Data
Oldfields SchoolBoarding School Avg.
School FocusCollege PrepCollege Preparatory
Grades Offered8-129-12
School TypeAll-girlsCo-ed
ADD/ADHD SupportYesYes
Supports Learning Differences (LD)YesYes
Religious AffiliationNon-denominationalNon-denominational
Year Founded18671907
Campus Size140 acres125 acres

Student Body

Enrollment100 students306 students
% Students of Color
32%
25%
% International Students
18%
20%
% Students Boarding
80%
70%
Average SAT Scoren/a* National Avg. »View
Offers Post-Grad YearNoNo

Academics and Faculty

Saturday ClassesNoNo
Classroom Dress CodeCasual
(While our dress code is designed to be casual and comfortable, it does not allow jeans, sweatpants, or athletic wear during the academic day.)
Casual
Average Class Size8 students12
*National School Avg. » 20
Student : Teacher Ratio5:17:1
# of AP / Advanced Courses Offered1318
ESL Courses OfferedNoYes
% Faculty with Advanced Degree
83%
70%
Summer Program OfferedYesYes
Summer Program DetailsLink to Summer Program Details

Finances

Yearly Tuition
(Boarding Students)
$62,000$58,935
Yearly Tuition
(Day Students)
$34,500$32,900
% Students on Financial Aid
45%
40%
Merit Scholarships OfferedNoNo

Admission

Application DeadlineFeb. 1 / rollingJan. 15
Accepts Standardized ApplicationNoNo
SSAT RequiredNoYes
Acceptance Rate
42%
57%
Director of AdmissionsReiva Kibbee
Associate Director of AdmissionsKathleen Wenck

Course Listings

List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses

AP / Advanced Courses

# of AP / Advanced Courses Offered1318
CoursesAP Biology, AP Calculus AB, AP Calculus BC, AP Chemistry , AP English Language and Composition , AP English Literature and Composition, AP Environmental Science, AP French Language and Culture , AP Physics I, AP Physics II, AP Spanish Language and Culture , AP US History, AP World History, Studio I, Studio II

Sports

# Interscholastic Sports Offered1616
SportsBadminton, Ballet, Basketball, Cross Country, Cross Country Running, Dance, Equestrian, Lacrosse, Riding, Soccer, Softball, Tennis, Track, Track and Field, Volleyball, Winter Track

Extracurriculars

Total Extracurricular Organizations3524
ExtracurricularsClub or Organization:
Asian Culture Club, Baltimore Girls School Leadership Coalition, Becoming Globally Aware, Bibliobash, Black Awareness Club, Chess Club, Diversity Committee, Dubious Dozen (a capella), Gay Straight Alliance, Green School Committee, Jewish Culture Club, Library Proctors, Model UN, One Love, Peer Tutors, Powered by Speech, School Judiciary Board, Semi-Formal, STEM, Student Ambassadors, Student Council, Tidbit (literary magazine), Yearbook, Young Democrats, Young Republicans

Arts and Music Programs:
Art and Design, Dream Catchers (K-Pop Dance Troupe), Images (a cappella), Oldfields Dance Company, Playmakers, Theatre

Recreational Athletic Programs:
Dance, Fitness & Conditioning, Pilates, Yoga

College Matriculation

Year: 10 Most Popular College Choices  (# Enrolled)
Link to Matriculation Data

School Notes

  • A leader among girl's boarding schools, Oldfields School, founded 1867, is a college preparatory boarding and day school for girls in grades 8-12.
  • Located in Maryland's horse and hound country, Oldfields provides an environment where girls feel comfortable, supported, and encouraged to explore new experiences and take risks along the way.
  • A 5:1 student to teacher ratio coupled with a talented and dedicated faculty allows for the mission of "Each Girl's Success" to be fully executed every day. Oldfields' distinctive academic schedule includes three 80 minute classes per day with 1 hour in between each class allows for extra help time with teachers, individualized one on one academic strategies support, time to do homework in the library, participate in clubs, or enjoy down time.  
  • Our intensive immersion into the subject matter is similar to a college experience and our balanced approach to high academic standards in a supportive environment results in confident, accomplished, well-rounded young women ready for the next phase of their education.
  • Accreditations include Association of Independent Maryland Schools, Middle States Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools, National Coalition of Girls Schools, National Association of Independent Schools
  • LD types supported: Mild Learning Differences
  • Oldfields School accreditations: Commission on Secondary Schools of the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools

Profile last updated:

Show me:
People that viewed Oldfields School also viewed these schools: Garrison Forest School, Grier School, St. Timothy's School, Foxcroft School and Chatham Hall.
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Grades: 8-12

    Pre-K-12 (day)
     | 548 students
    12.3 miles300 Garrison Forest Road
    Owings MillsMD 21117
    (410) 559-3111
    12.38-12

    Pre-K-12 (day)
    548
  • Grier School
    Grier School Photo
    All-girls 
    Grades: 7-12, PG | 285 students 114.7 miles2522 Grier School Road
    TyronePA 16686
    (814) 684-3000
    114.77-12, PG285
  • St. Timothy's School
    St. Timothy's School Photo - Completed in 2012, Dixon Hall is our state-of-the-art academic building. The technology-rich facility features the Taft Lecture Hall, the Coleman World Languages and Cultures Center, and a Center for Learning and Teaching.
    All-girls  (Episcopal)
    Grades: 9-12, PG | 185 students 10.8 miles8400 Greenspring Avenue
    StevensonMD 21153
    (410) 486-7401
    10.89-12, PG185
  • Foxcroft School
    Foxcroft School Photo - Schoolhouse
    All-girls 
    Grades: 9-12, PG | 175 students 71.2 miles22407 Foxhound Lane
    MiddleburgVA 20117
    (540) 687-4340
    71.29-12, PG175
  • Chatham Hall
    Chatham Hall Photo - Our traditions are a vital force: They bridge the generations, bond students, and help us continually build our community. Best of all, they're a lot of fun (and they help make Chatham Hall the unique place it is).
    All-girls  (Episcopal)
    Grades: 9-12 | 150 students 241.1 miles800 Chatham Hall Circle
    ChathamVA 24531
    (434) 432-5516
    241.19-12150
Recent Articles
Families who live outside the United States and who are not American citizens or Permanent Residents have to deal with a couple of additional steps when thinking of sending their children to an American boarding school.
Determining which programs are 'must haves' is an important part of choosing the right boarding school for your child.
Are you wondering whether boarding school is right for your child? Answer these five questions and you will be better able to determine whether it is.
Featured Schools
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Country of Citizenship:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please briefly describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone: