Chatham Hall

5.00 5 1 (3 reviews)
Tel: 434-432-5516
800 Chatham Hall Circle
Chatham, VA 24531
previous
Pruden Hall is at the center of Chatham Hall's 362-acre campus. Here, you'll find the Well, where students and faculty gather for assemblies and unique performances, as well as Admission and Academic offices, dorm rooms upstairs, and easy access to the dining hall, classrooms, and science and language buildings.
next
Pruden Hall is at the center of Chatham Hall's 362-acre campus. Here, you'll find the Well, where students and faculty gather for assemblies and unique performances, as well as Admission and Academic offices, dorm rooms upstairs, and easy access to the dining hall, classrooms, and science and language buildings.
Chatham Hall has transformed the 12,256-square-foot Edmund J. and Lucy Lee Library into a dynamic learning commons. It serves as an academic and technological hub for collaborative learning, research, study, and teaching on campus. Versatile meeting and study spaces promote an engaging atmosphere for learning, and integration of more advanced technology opens doors for creative new teaching methods. The library
In small classrooms (averaging 8 students), Chatham Hall teachers challenge girls to excel academically. The majority of our faculty and administration live on campus, and more than 70% of our teachers have advanced degrees.
Chatham Hall is also an iPad school, utilizing the latest technology to improve the educational experience and provide our students
Chatham Hall is known for our STEAM offerings-including the award winning FTC Robotics team- The Tutu Turtles!
Chatham Hall's variety of dynamic and unique programming includes the prestigious Leader in Residence Program which brings world leaders and global thinkers to campus to meet with students. Past guests include BBC Anchor Katty Kay Nobel Prize winner Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Jane Goodall, Alvin Ailey Artistic Director Judith Jameson, the late Benazir Bhutto, Gloria Steinem, and Venus Williams.
'The Well' in our main building is a hub of school life!
Our signature travel program take our girls all over the world!
Whether you ve been riding your whole life or have always wanted to you can find a place in our program. The Chatham Hall campus is home to more than 30 horses, three teaching arenas, a permanent Hunter Trials course, and plenty of trails. We teach hunt seat the Modern Forward Riding System with an emphasis on horse and rider
Chatham Hall offers a competitive athletic program, with nine varsity sports. We've won numerous conference championships, most recently in swimming (four years in a row!), tennis, and field hockey.
Our traditions are a vital force: They bridge the generations, bond new students with old, and help us continually build our community. Best of all, they're a lot of fun (and they help make Chatham Hall the unique place it is).
  • "An all-girls college-preparatory boarding school, Chatham Hall offers students a rigorous academic environment, a rich extracurricular program and a beautiful 362-acre campus.
  • In our small classes, teachers challenge and encourage students to excel academically.
  • Recent graduates have attended Princeton, Dartmouth, Cornell, Duke, Georgetown, William & Mary, U.Va., Stanford, Vanderbilt and Vassar.
  • Chatham Hall has the highest percentage of boarding students among peer girls schools.".

Alumni Reviews
  Review School

  • Review Description

  • Class of 2014
    5 Stars   7/24/2014
    Yale University
    The most important facet of life at Chatham Hall is the strong sense of community. At atmosphere of care, trust, and kindness is the foundation upon which our school is built. This makes. . .

  • Class of 2009
    5 Stars   6/22/2009
    Texas Christian University
    Chatham Hall's advisor program is something really unique that has been so helpful to me - one of the best parts about my experience here actually. Students select an advisor and the groups meet twice. . .

  • Class of 2009
    5 Stars   6/22/2009
    University of Richmond
    I feel like our school's Honor Code is stronger than any other school I came across when I was researching schools to possibly attend. It makes for a more trusting and tight knit community. I was. . .

Top 20 Placements

Listed among the top 20 boarding schools (out of 329 schools) for:

Definition of Terms 
2017 School Data
Chatham HallBoarding School Avg.
School FocusCollege PrepCollege Preparatory
Grades Offered9-129-12
School TypeAll-girlsCo-ed
Religious AffiliationEpiscopalNon-denominational
Year Founded18941910
Campus Size362 acres105 acres

Student Body

Enrollment140 students300 students
% Students of Color
21%
20%
% International Students
19%
20%
% Students Boarding
84%
66%
Average SAT Score1854* National Avg. »View
Average ACT score27*National Avg. » View
Offers Post-Grad YearNoNo

Academics and Faculty

Saturday ClassesNoNo
Classroom Dress CodeCasualCasual
Average Class Size8 students12
*National School Avg. » 20
Teacher : Student Ratio1:51:7
# of AP / Advanced Courses Offered1816
ESL Courses OfferedYesYes
% Faculty with Advanced Degree
77%
70%
Summer Program OfferedYesYes

Finances

Endowment Size$60 million$17 million
Yearly Tuition
(Boarding Students)
$48,000$52,700
Yearly Tuition
(Day Students)
$19,500$28,270
Yearly Tuition
(5 Day Boarding)
$40,500$37,945
% Students on Financial Aid
51%
36%
Merit Scholarships OfferedYesNo

Admission

Application DeadlineJan. 15 / rollingJan. 15
Accepts Standardized ApplicationNoNo
SSAT RequiredYesYes
Acceptance Rate
65%
57%
Director of AdmissionsCarney M.H. O'Brien
Schaeffer Barnhardt

Course Listings

List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses

Sports

# Interscholastic Sports Offered1114
SportsBasketball, Cross Country, Dance, Equestrian, Field Hockey, Golf, Lacrosse, Soccer, Swimming, Tennis, Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total Extracurricular Organizations2323
ExtracurricularsArt Club, Astronomy Club, Bit N Spur Riding Club, Chamber, Chess Club, Cooking Club, Dance Club, Drama Club, French Club, International Club, Latin Club, Leaders in Residence, Literary Magazine, Niche (Student Rock Band), Panache (Modern Dance Troupe), School Newspaper, Service League, Sextet - Senior a capella group, Spanish Club, St. Mary's Choir, Student Council, Student Senate, Yearbook

College Matriculation

Year: 201210 Most Popular College Choices  (# Enrolled)
Colgate University2
Duke University2
Yale University2
College of William & Mary1
Cornell University1
Georgetown University1
Savannah College of Art & Design1
University of North Carolina- Chapel Hill1
University of Virginia1
Virginia Tech1

School Notes

  • An all-girls college-preparatory boarding school, Chatham Hall offers students a rigorous academic environment, a rich extracurricular program, and a beautiful 362-acre campus. In our small classes, teachers challenge and encourage students to excel academically. Recent graduates have attended Princeton, Dartmouth, Cornell, Georgetown, William & Mary, U.Va., Stanford, and Vanderbilt. Chatham Hall has the highest percentage of boarding students among peer girls schools. More than 70% of the faculty live on campus. The Honor Code is a pivotal part of the school community and faculty members serve as teachers and mentors. Students expand their talents and strengthen their self-confidence through sports, art, riding, drama, music and dance.
  • School accreditations: TABS, NAIS, NCGS, VAIS
  • Sample of notable school alumni/alumnae:
    • Georgia O'Keefe - Artist
    • Claudia Emerson - Poet
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Foxcroft School
    All-girls 
    Grades: 9-12, PG | 151 students 173.4 milesP.O. Box 5555
    MiddleburgVA 20118
    540-687-4340
    173.49-12, PG151
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 308 students 188.8 miles8328 Georgetown Pike
    McLeanVA 22102-1200
    703-556-8273
    188.89-12, PG308
  • Grier School
    All-girls 
    Grades: 7-12, PG | 300 students 272.8 milesP.O. Box 308
    TyronePA 16686
    814-684-3000
    272.87-12, PG300
  • Grades: 6-12, PG | 200 students 284.3 miles212 East Main Street
    LititzPA 17543
    717-626-8512
    284.36-12, PG200
  • Salem Academy
    All-girls  (Moravian)
    Grades: 9-12 | 171 students 69.5 miles500 East Salem Avenue
    Winston-SalemNC 27101
    336-721-2643
    69.59-12171
Recent Articles
Choosing a School: Comparing Schools
September 28, 2017
Use a spreadsheet to develop your initial list of schools. Here's how.
How Can an Educational Consultant Help with a Boarding School Search?
September 28, 2017
Finding the right boarding school for your child is one of the most important and expensive decisions you will ever make.
The St. Grottlesex Schools
September 05, 2017
Generous financial aid and a commitment to diversity are hallmarks of the 21st century release of St. Grottlesex. More here.
Featured Schools
Request Information
I am a:
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Country of Citizenship:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone: