A+ World Academy

5.00 5 1 (7 reviews)
International (Swiss and Norwegian Headquarters). , Bern & Kristiansand 3007, Switzerland
  • A+ World Academy is an American boarding school on a Ship.
  • Up to 60 students in grades 11, 12 and gap year live and work aboard the 90 year old Norwegian Tall Ship, Sorlandet, while they take AP classes and travel the world. They even have the option of completing the AP Captsone Diploma
  • Students travel to +20 port cities and discover the world while they complete an academic year.
  • A high school on a ship presents real-life political, social and environmental choices.
  • Students live in tight quarters and must learn to communicate, work as a team, and show consideration.
  • They take part in watches and daily duties on board and develop life skills such as time management, work-ethic, community-mindedness, and team work.
  • They overcome challenges on a daily basis, strengthening their character and confidence.

School News

  • "The Pearl of Norway" Called at Walvis Bay - 01/08/2019 - A+ World Academy made it's way over to Walvis Bay, Namibia to start the year and locals were absolutely thrilled. We gave them a tour of our ship, had special ...morespeakers on board, and explored similarities between the pasts of Namibia and Norway. hide
  • Unique Sailing Ship Visits St Helena - 01/24/2019 - Our story on page 6! We gave the news staff at the Sentinal a tour of our ship and shared a bit about uor past and present with them!
  • Schools to Fly For - 01/31/2019 - School House Magazine features A+ Word Academy as one of the greatest high school programs to go the extra mile for. Find us on pages 12, 41, 54-55.
  • A+ World Academy to Offer AP Capstone Diploma Program - 04/08/2019 - A+ World Academy is very proud to announce that we were approved to be official issuers of the AP Capstone diploma. We are one of only 1,800 schools worldwide who ...moreoffer the program and we will begin offering it in August 2019. Please read the full article for more information!hide

Alumni Reviews
  Review School

  • Review Description

  • Class of 2018
    5 Stars  
    KG
    A + World Academy is an Unique School which allows you to grow as a person. It offers a program combining normal classes With Field studies all around the world, allowing you to Discover new. . .

  • Class of 2018
    5 Stars  
    Kristiansand Katedralskole Gimle
    The biggest difference from other schools is that all the students live on a ship while sailing the world. That experience is something you can carry for the rest of your life.Another aspect of. . .

  • Class of 2018
    5 Stars  
    None
    The moats unique thing about A+ World Academy is the fact that it’s a school on a tall ship. You’re not only attending the school, you’re also working as a crew member on the ship. . .
  • Show more reviews (4 reviews)

Top 20 Placements

A+ World Academy is listed among the top 20 boarding schools (out of 321 schools) for:

Definition of Terms 
2018 School Data
A+ World Academy
School FocusCollege Preparatory
Grades (Boarding)Grades 11-12, PG
School TypeCo-ed
ADD/ADHD SupportYes
Religious AffiliationNon-denominational
Year Founded2015

Student Body

Enrollment62 students
% International Students
95%
% Students Boarding
100%

Academics and Faculty

Saturday ClassesYes
Classroom Dress CodeCasual
Average Class Size12 students
Teacher : Student Ratio1:7
Number of AP Courses Offered10
ESL Courses OfferedNo
Summer Program OfferedNo

Finances

Yearly Tuition
(Boarding Students)
$70,000
(62,900 Euro)
Yearly Tuition
(Day Students)
n/a
Merit Scholarships OfferedNo

Admission

Application DeadlineNone / Rolling
Director of AdmissionsMaria Mora
Associate Director of AdmissionsDaniela Jaramillo

Course Listings

List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses

AP / Advanced Courses

Total Advanced Courses Offered10
CoursesBiology, Calculus, Chemistry, Comparative Government and Politics, English Literature and Composition , Human Geography, Physics, Psychology, Spanish

Sports

# Interscholastic Sports Offered1 Interscholastic Sports
SportsSailing

Extracurriculars

Total Extracurricular Organizations8 Extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsClub or Organization:
Any club students want to organize, Baking Club, Diving Club, Golf Club, Holiday Party Organization, Student Council, Yearbook Club

Recreational Athletic Programs:
Sailing

College Matriculation

Year: 10 Most Popular College Choices  (# Enrolled)
Link to Matriculation Data

School Notes

  • A+ World Academy is an academic, university preparatory high school on a Ship. 
  • We offer an American curriculum in which students take AP courses, offering the additional of option of completing the AP Capstone Diploma. 
  • A+ World Academy students go on to university after graduation when they're in 12th grade or gap year.
  • Students live in a challenging maritime environment that fosters independence, communication, teamwork and leadership.
  • The school is new, but our history is old. Even though the school was established in 2015, it evolved from a school that was established in the 80s, and the ship has been used for educational purposes since it was launched in 1927. In 2015 we combined these two elements to create a program that prepares students for university, the world and for leadership. 
  • Classes vary in size from 2 to 18 students (usually below 15), and teachers are ready to support our students around the clock. 
  • All of our 900 hours of instruction take place on board. Students have lectures, presentations, and group work. 
  • In port, our time is different.  Half our time is spent on shore leave. Students will have the opportunity to explore the different ports in groups of four and feel for themselves the pulse of different cities. The other half of the time students will attend school lead excursions that immerse students in the most historical and culturally relevant parts of the city. 
  • The A+ campus is the world`s oldest operating fully rigged tall ship. We sailed for 40 years without an engine, and even today we sail about 90% of the time. Operating a ship takes teamwork. Students need to work together to move the ship from one port to the other. This generates a huge feeling of accomplishment in our students, as they can say that they helped sail this incredible ship around the world one more time. 
  • A+ World Academy accreditations: MSA Candidate

Profile last updated:

Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Grades: 8-12 | 320 students 4889.2 miles501 Park Street North
    St. PetersburgFL 33710
    (727)384-5500
    4889.28-12320
  • Grades: 7-12, PG | 340 students 66 milesChemin de la Source
    LeysinSwitzerland 1854
    0041244934888
    667-12, PG340
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 40 students 5937.1 miles345 South Figueroa Street
    Los AngelesCA 90071
    (213)400-4585
    5937.19-12, PG40
  • Grades: 9-12 | 294 students 4521.2 miles360 Asheville School Rd.
    AshevilleNC 28806
    (828)254-6345
    4521.29-12294
  • Grades: 9-12 | 400 students 4048.1 miles88 Bronte College Court
    Mississauga, OntarioCanada L5B1M9
    (905)270-7788
    4048.19-12400
Recent Articles
What Alums Have To Say About Their Schools
Learning about a school from its website and social media pages is useful as you decide which school to choose. So is hearing what the school's alumni say about their alma mater.
Summer Explorations 2019
The typical three-month-long summer break gives juniors and seniors a great opportunity to explore a variety of situations and options.
Alumni Relations Apps
Your graduates can do everything on their smartphones with one click. An alumni relations app will allow them to click a gift to their alma mater. More here.
Featured Schools
Request Information
I am a:
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Country of Citizenship:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone: