Southern Preparatory Academy

5.00 5 1 (4 reviews)
174 Ward Circle
Camp Hill, AL 36850
previous
next
Southern Preparatory Academy Photo #1 - 2019 NHSA Division 2 National Champions in 8-Man Football
Southern Preparatory Academy Photo #2 - Strength of Brotherhood: Southern Prep provides young men with a unique opportunity to benefit from an environment that fosters the development of these bonds: where cadets share a common goal of not only becoming leaders but also becoming part of a team.
Southern Preparatory Academy Photo #3 - Strength of Achievement: First we are a school, then we are a military academy. For our students, the advantage is that we are both. This is because when students apply the structure, organization, and self-discipline of military principles to their academics, they become efficient with their study time, excelling in the quantity and quality of the work they can accomplish.
Southern Preparatory Academy Photo #4 - Strength of Opportunity: When students have the vision to dream, we take it upon ourselves to provide them with the opportunity. This is what drives the implementation of signature experiences such as our Aviation Program-which provides our boys with the opportunity to (literally) soar to new heights.
Southern Preparatory Academy Photo #5 - Strength of Preparation: To be ready for college and life beyond means much more today than academic preparation; it means preparation for life. Our graduates move on with the skills to lead; with strong abilities in self-discipline, organization, and teamwork; and with the drive to achieve.
Southern Preparatory Academy Photo #6 - Strength of Leadership: Because military standards surrounding organization, self-care, and respect are clear and consistent, it creates an environment where the possibility for achievement is equal among all cadets. For many boys, this provides a new opportunity to prove themselves...and they do.
Southern Preparatory Academy Photo #7 - Strength of Southern Prep: We believe that every young man wants to be a part of something great. He wants to become as wise, as strong, as brave, and as respected as he can be. We also believe that each young man can become his very best self when he discovers that responsibility and hard work can make anything possible.
Southern Preparatory Academy Photo #8 - Cadets across campus have an opportunity to better themselves in a variety of ways, such as through the weekly worship service in the Dixon All Faith Chapel on campus. This non-denominational service inspires young men to become more than they ever thought is possible.
Southern Preparatory Academy Photo #9 - Academics are at the highest level of importance at Southern Prep. The curriculum is designed to provide seven years of academic study to students in grades 6-12 who are preparing for vocational training or admission into a college or university. It is challenging, yet rewarding.
Southern Preparatory Academy Photo #10 - Our academy possesses a 10:1 cadet to teacher ratio. Our small class sizes and incredibly dedicated faculty contribute to learning environments where teachers are uniquely capable of providing students with individualized attention when they need it most.
  • Our purpose is to prepare each cadet for the responsibilities of life and offer the best in academic instruction coupled with the discipline of a military program.
  • Southern Preparatory Academy will be recognized as one of the best military boarding schools for young men in the world.

School News

  • Straight-A Student Accepted to West Point - 03/26/2018 - Senior Cadet Norrell excited to attend West Point in the fall. On average, 90% of Southern Prep seniors will attend a 2- or 4-year college or university upon ...moregraduation, while the remaining 10% join a branch of the United States Armed Forces. hide
  • Soaring Senior Flies Solo - 04/29/2019 - Senior Cadet Stone takes his first solo flight after learning from experienced professionals, including a Senior Captain for Delta Airlines, Auburn University Aviation Professor, and a Retired United States Army ...moreColonel. hide
  • What exactly IS scrub graduation? - 09/03/2019 - On Friday, August 30th, we had 30 scrubs graduate and become cadets of Southern Prep. 
  • Back-to-Back Shutouts - 09/11/2019 - For the first time since 1993, Ranger Football has defeated both opposing teams with a combined score of 101-0.
  • NHSA Division II Champions - 11/22/2019 - First time in 50 years our Fighting Rangers football team has made it to the playoffs. 
  • Southern Prep Senior Takes to the Skies - 12/05/2019 - A feature on our third aviation student to complete his solo flight with Brown Aero Flight School in Alex City, AL. 

Alumni Reviews
  Review School

  • Review Description
  • Middle tn state university
    One or two aspects that I love personally is the hard work and dedication the teachers and staff of southern prep academy that they will never give up on you no matter what the second. . .
  • N/A
    In my opinion, I believe that our school is different from other schools in that everyone gets along at some point because we live together. We are brothers at Southern Prep Academy.Another reason we are. . .
  • University of North Carolina @ Charlotte
    I really liked the Campus! 400 Acres of Hills, Grass, Football and Baseball Fields, Lakes (2 of them), Hiking Trails, Roads, Rifle Ranges, Indoor Swimming Pool, Historic Buildings and Beautiful Rolling Hills. This Campus is. . .
  • Show more reviews (1 review)

Top 20 Placements

Southern Preparatory Academy is listed among the top 20 boarding schools (out of 314 schools) for:

Definition of Terms
 | 2019 School Data
Southern PreparatoryBoarding School Avg.
School FocusCollege PrepCollege Preparatory
Grades Offered6-129-12
School TypeAll-boysCo-ed
ADD/ADHD SupportYesYes
Religious AffiliationNon-denom. / ChristianNon-denominational
Year Founded18981909
Campus Size300 acres120 acres

Student Body

Enrollment110 students320 students
% Students of Color
20%
24%
% International Students
4%
20%
% Students Boarding
98%
70%
Average SAT Scoren/a* National Avg. »View
Average ACT score24*National Avg. » View
Offers Post-Grad YearNoNo

Academics and Faculty

Saturday ClassesNoNo
Classroom Dress CodeFormal
(Uniform )
Casual
Average Class Size12 students12
*National School Avg. » 20
Teacher : Student Ratio1:101:7
ESL Courses OfferedYesYes
% Faculty with Advanced Degree
75%
70%
Summer Program OfferedYesYes
Summer Program Cost$3,500
(From $1,000 to $3,500)
Summer Program DetailsLink to Summer Program Details

Finances

Yearly Tuition
(Boarding Students)
$28,258$57,800
Yearly Tuition
(Day Students)
n/a$30,150
Tuition international students$37,000$51,800
Merit Scholarships OfferedYesNo

Admission

Application DeadlineNone / RollingJan. 15
SSAT RequiredNoYes
Director of AdmissionsJenifer Isbell
Associate Director of AdmissionsMorgan Comolli

Course Listings

List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses

Sports

# Interscholastic Sports Offered916
SportsBaseball, Basketball, Cross Country, Diving, Drill Team, Football, Riflery, Soccer, Track and Field

Extracurriculars

Total Extracurricular Organizations1024
ExtracurricularsClub or Organization:
Aviation, Beta Club, Color Guard, Drill Team, Drone Demonstration Team, Ranger Team, Robotics Team, Scholars' Bowl, SCUBA Training, Sword Drill

School Notes

  • We believe that every young man wants to be a part of something great. He wants to become as wise, as strong, as brave, and as respected as he can be. We also believe that each young man can become his very best self when he discovers that responsibility and hard work can make anything possible. Capable young men with this potential to achieve are the young men of Southern Prep.Since its founding in 1898, the focus of our school has been to provide students with opportunity. The opportunity to experience something more; to do something bigger; to be someone better. This same transformational experience remains at the core of the school`s mission today and is rooted in Southern Prep`s close-knit community of adults and students living and learning together in an environment that balances challenge and support.We are an independent boarding school committed to preparing young men of integrity and strength for leadership in college and beyond. Our graduates are proud to be Southern Prep men. Proud of their achievements. Proud of their success. Proud to be a part of something great.
    • Southern Preparatory Academy accreditations: AISA
    • Sample of notable school alumni/alumnae:
      • Bucky Heard - The Righteous Brothers
      • Jeremy Farber - CEO of Securis Technologies
      • Mario Camara - Head of Saxo Bank

    Profile last updated:

    Show me:
    • School Location Miles Grades Students
    • Grades: 7-12 | 550 students 149 miles2001 Riverside Drive
      GainesvilleGA 30501
      (800)462-2338
      1497-12550
    • Grades: 7-12, PG | 300 students 304.9 miles520 Hwy. 1 North
      CamdenSC 29020
      (800)948-6291
      304.97-12, PG300
    • Grades: 9-12, PG | 871 students 1091.1 miles101 West College Blvd
      RoswellNM 88201
      (800)421-5376
      1091.19-12, PG871
    • Grades: 7-12 | 150 students 526.4 miles225 S. Wayne Avenue
      WaynesboroVA 22980
      (540)946-7706
      526.47-12150
    • Grades: 7-12 | 300 students 1829.9 miles2605 Carlsbad Blvd.
      CarlsbadCA 92008
      (888)762-2338
      1829.97-12300
    Recent Articles
    Does your son or daughter ride? Are you thinking about finding a private school which will suit both your academic requirements and your child's penchant for riding? Let's look at a couple of schools with riding programs.
    What are you allowed to bring to boarding school? What are you not allowed to bring to boarding school? Answers to those questions and more.
    Four reasons shaped our decision. I share these and other insights with you.
    Featured Schools
    Request Information
    I am a:
    Email:
    Name of parent:
    Student First name:
    Student Middle name:
    Student Last name:
    Student date of birth:
    Country of Citizenship:
    Student is:
    Currently in grade:
    Seeking entry for grade:
    Target start date:
    Name of current school:
    School type:
    Applying for financial aid?:
    Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
    Address:
    City:
    Country:
    State:
    Zip:

    (enter "N/A" if not applicable)
    Phone: