The Masters School

Alumni Reviews
  Review School

  • Review Description

  • Class of 2009
    5 Stars   3/10/2010
    Brown University
    The Masters School can be quickly distinguished from other schools by the style of teaching that takes place. After a quick tour of classes, one will notice that there are no desks. Instead, each classroom. . .

  • Class of 2008
    5 Stars   3/10/2010
    Boston University
    The Masters School prides itself on using the Harkness method of teaching. Rather than sit at individual desks, students face each other around a large table. This style prompts discussion and keeps each. . .

  • Class of 2008
    5 Stars   3/10/2010
    Middlebury College
    One unique aspect of the Masters School for which I was personally very grateful was our Morning Meeting. This was a gathering of the entire upper school and faculty in the theater, three times weekly. . .

  • Class of 2006
    5 Stars   3/10/2010
    Bentley University
    The Masters School's teaching technique uses Harkness tables in the classroom to promote classroom discussions which teaches the students not only listen to others opinions but also create coherent and concise ways to express their. . .

  • Class of 2005
    5 Stars   12/1/2005
    Columbia University
    Masters is unique because of its wonderful relationship between students and faculty. Because many faculty members live on campus as dorm parents or faculty in residence, teachers and students are apart of the same community. . .
  • Show more reviews (3 reviews)
Definition of Terms 
2017 School Data
The Masters SchoolBoarding School Avg.
School FocusCollege PrepCollege Preparatory
Grades Offered9-129-12
School TypeCo-edCo-ed
Religious AffiliationNon-denominationalNon-denominational
Year Founded18771910
Campus Size96 acres105 acres

Student Body

Enrollment499 students300 students
% Students of Color
36%
20%
% International Students
17%
20%
% Students Boarding
40%
66%
Average SAT Scoren/a* National Avg. »View
Offers Post-Grad YearNoNo

Academics and Faculty

Saturday ClassesNoNo
Classroom Dress CodeCasualCasual
Average Class Size14 students12
*National School Avg. » 20
Teacher : Student Ratio1:81:7
# of AP / Advanced Courses Offered1516
ESL Courses OfferedYesYes
% Faculty with Advanced Degree
75%
70%
Summer Program OfferedNoYes

Finances

Endowment Size$39 million$17 million
Yearly Tuition
(Boarding Students)
$62,500$52,700
Yearly Tuition
(Day Students)
$44,550$28,270
% Students on Financial Aid
25%
36%
Avg. Financial Aid Grant$26,000$22,410
Merit Scholarships OfferedNoNo

Admission

Application DeadlineFeb. 1 / Dec. 15Jan. 15
Accepts Standardized ApplicationYesNo
SSAT RequiredYesYes
Acceptance Rate
40%
57%
Director of AdmissionsKeith Holton
Associate Director of AdmissionsTim Custer

Course Listings

List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses

AP / Advanced Courses

# of AP / Advanced Courses Offered1516
CoursesArt History, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, English Language, English Literature, European History, French Language, Latin, Music Theory, Physics C Mechanics, Spanish Language, Statistics, Studio Art, United States History

Sports

# Interscholastic Sports Offered1514
SportsBaseball, Basketball, Cross Country, Dance, Fencing, Field Hockey, Golf, Lacrosse, Soccer, Softball, Squash, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total Extracurricular Organizations4223
ExtracurricularsAnimation Club, Art Guild, Classics Club, Community Government, Cooking Club, Debate Club, Dobbs 16 (co-ed a cappella), Dobbs Athletic Association, Dohters (female a cappella), Environment Club, Film Club, Football Club, French Club, Games Club, Gay Straight Alliance (GSA), Glee Club, Gold Key Club, Improv Club, International Club, Knitting Club, Latin Club, Latinos Unidos, M.I.S.H. (community service), Masterpieces (Yearbook), Model United Nations,

College Matriculation

Year: 2009 - 201410 Most Popular College Choices  (# Enrolled)
New York University31
George Washington University24
Cornell University16
Skidmore College13
Hamilton College10
Northeastern University10
Emory University9
Johns Hopkins University9
Oberlin College9
Brown University8
Link to Matriculation Data

School Notes

  • The Masters School celebrates active participation, deep understanding, and meaningful connection. A community of diverse individuals, we gather to learn, to strive, to dare, to do -- to be a power for good in the world.
  • To Learn - We believe that students learn best when they construct their own meanings. This belief is reflected in the architecture of the classroom itself: the Harkness table gathers students and teachers to build knowledge and learn from one another. Our students practice communication and thinking skills by developing and supporting their ideas, listening carefully to others, working collaboratively, and sharing feedback. In the process, they come to understand their own approaches to learning and value those of others. This group experience fosters a sense of collective responsibility, an appreciation of others, and a feeling of accomplishment in creating something unique and profound.
  • To Strive - We believe that our environment must inspire students to strive to be their best selves -- in academic, athletic, artistic, and all other endeavors. In working to achieve their goals, students learn to persevere. A community-wide focus on growth enables them to navigate challenges and become resourceful, confident, and resilient.
  • To Dare - We believe that we must empower students to dare -- to wonder, to question what is known, and to explore what is unknown. Our culture of kindness and inclusivity applauds students who take risks, learn from setbacks, and gain new perspectives.
  • To Do - We believe that learning is doing. We ask our students to be more than consumers of content -- we ask them to use what they learn to solve problems and design new visions for the world and their place in it. For our students, learning is experiential, and experience shapes learning.
  • To Be a Power for Good in the World - When Eliza B. Masters founded The Masters School in 1877, she set out to educate each student "to be a power for good in the world." Today, we continue to hold this mission as central to everything we do. As our students contend with real-world issues both in and out of the classroom, they gain empathy, confidence, and a sense of responsibility to fulfill Miss Masters` most important mission. 
  • School accreditations: TABS, ISAAGNY, Middle States, NAIS, NYSAIS
  • Sample of notable school alumni/alumnae:
    • Kara DioGuardi - Kara Elizabeth DioGuardi is an American singer-songwriter, record producer, music publisher, A&R executive, composer and TV personality. She writes music primarily in the light pop-rock, dance, and R&B genres. DioGuardi has worked with many popular a
    • Nancy Kissinger - Nancy Sharon Maginnes Kissinger is a philanthropist, and the second wife of former U.S. Secretary of State Henry Kissinger. She was a long-time aide to New York governor Nelson Rockefeller before her marriage, recommended to him in 1964 by her future
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 460 students 57 milesPO Box 600
    BlairstownNJ 07825
    908-362-6121
    579-12, PG460
  • Grades: 7-12 | 370 students 39.1 miles1 Chapman Parkway
    Stony BrookNY 11790
    631-751-1800
    39.17-12370
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 310 students 59.1 miles131 Millbrook School Road
    MillbrookNY 12545
    845-677-8261
    59.19-12, PG310
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 862 students 63.2 miles333 Christian Street
    WallingfordCT 06492
    203-697-2239
    63.29-12, PG862
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 551 students 61.8 miles201 South Main Street
    HightstownNJ 08520
    609-944-7501
    61.89-12, PG551
Recent Articles
Choosing a School: Comparing Schools
September 28, 2017
Use a spreadsheet to develop your initial list of schools. Here's how.
How Can an Educational Consultant Help with a Boarding School Search?
September 28, 2017
Finding the right boarding school for your child is one of the most important and expensive decisions you will ever make.
The St. Grottlesex Schools
September 05, 2017
Generous financial aid and a commitment to diversity are hallmarks of the 21st century release of St. Grottlesex. More here.
Featured Schools
Request Information
I am a:
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Country of Citizenship:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone: