Stuart Hall School

5.00 5 1 (4 reviews)
235 West Frederick Street
Staunton, VA 24401
Tel: 540-213-3746
previous
Founded in 1844, Stuart Hall School is one of the oldest and most respected independent schools in the nation. Our students enjoy the benefits of a long-standing, global alumni network upon graduating.
next
Founded in 1844, Stuart Hall School is one of the oldest and most respected independent schools in the nation. Our students enjoy the benefits of a long-standing, global alumni network upon graduating.
Our campus community is one of openness, trust, and fun. Stuart Hall School fosters lifelong friendships in the context of an academically rigorous and socially supportive environment.
Students at Stuart Hall School come from all over the nation and the world. Our community is built on mutual trust and academic inquiry, and we seek to develop the personal character, honor, and creativity of each member of our school.
Our Math & Science Emphasis program allows students to engage with Math the Sciences on a deeper level through research, independent projects, and a schedule focused on Pre-Engineering, Pre-Med, or Mathematics.
Fine Arts Emphasis at Stuart Hall School allows students to discover their passion and sends students to prestigious arts programs in the areas of Music, Visual Art, and Theatre every year.
Stuart Hall School offers a competitive and successful athletics program that teaches students the value of sportsmanship, leadership and teamwork.
Academic inquiry and risk-taking lay an important foundation to our curriculum. Students are encouraged to explore new courses and areas of study they hadn't previously considered. Because of our small class size, every student is known, supported, and challenged to grow as an individual throughout their time at Stuart Hall.
Our historic campus is located in downtown Staunton, Virginia. Students enjoy the freedom afforded them by this safe environment; whether walking into town to study at a coffee shop or spending free time at local shops and restaurants, our students get a taste of the college experience early-on in the context of our safe, small town.
  • Stuart Hall School, a member of (Episcopal) Church Schools in the Diocese of Virginia, educates the whole child -mind, body, heart, spirit - in a nurturing environment based on honor and respect.
  • The school is coed day grades Pre-K - 12 boarding in grades 8 - 12.
  • Personal attention encourages high academic acheivement, excellence in the arts, and comfortable student-faculty interaction.
  • The campus is located in the historic district of the city of Staunton, Virginia- home to the Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library, Mary Baldwin College, the American Shakespeare Center's Blackfriars Playhouse, the Frontier Cultural Museum, Blue Ridge Parkway, and a variety of restaurants, coffee shops, and boutiques.
  • Nearby Charlottesville, offers additional cultural and sporting events at the University of Virginia, and, within 2 hours' drive, Richmond and Washington, D.C. offer even more historic and cosmopolitan opportunities for our students.

Alumni Reviews
  Review School

  • Review Description

  • Class of 2017
    5 Stars   6/16/2017
    None (gap year)
    Unlike most boarding schools in the United States which tend to have large campuses in rather rural or otherwise secluded areas, Stuart Hall School has a rather small campus located inside a small town and. . .

  • Class of 2014
    5 Stars   7/4/2014
    Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
    Stuart Hall's diverse community and the sense of family are two of the many very important aspects that make the school unique. Small class sizes provide the opportunity for all types of students to. . .

  • Class of 2008
    5 Stars   2/6/2017
    VCU
    My boarding school was actually co-ed during the academic day, but only girls boarded (though I think now the boarding has become co-ed presently). . .

  • Class of 1998
    5 Stars   7/11/2004
    University of Virginia
    Stuart Hall's small class sizes and caring faculty really do give it the "family" atmosphere that it advertises. While at Stuart Hall I had many opportunities to explore. . .
  • Show more reviews (-1 reviews)
Definition of Terms 
2016 School Data
Stuart Hall School Boarding School Avg.
School Focus College Prep College Preparatory
Grades Offered (Boarding) 8-12 9-12
Grades Offered (Day) Pre-K-12 9-12
School Type Co-ed Co-ed
Religious Affiliation Episcopal Non-denominational
Year Founded 1844 1910
Campus Size 15 acres 110 acres

Student Body

Enrollment 280 students 298 students
% Students of Color
20%
20%
% International Students
20%
20%
% Students Boarding
50%
68%
Average SAT Score 1720 * National Avg. »View
SAT range (25th-75th percentile) 1470 - 1950 -
Offers Post-Grad Year No No

Academics and Faculty

Saturday Classes No No
Classroom Dress Code Casual Casual
Average Class Size 10 students 12
*National School Avg. » 20
Teacher : Student Ratio 1:8 1:7
# of AP / Advanced Courses Offered 15 16
ESL Courses Offered Yes Yes
% Faculty with Advanced Degree
75%
70%
Summer Program Offered No Yes

Finances

Endowment Size $5 million $16 million
Yearly Tuition
(Boarding Students)
$48,000 $51,700
Yearly Tuition
(Day Students)
$15,100 $28,500
Tuition international students $48,000 $47,000
Yearly Tuition
(5 Day Boarding)
$33,000 $38,000
% Students on Financial Aid
45%
35%
Avg. Financial Aid Grant $25,000 $21,582
Merit Scholarships Offered Yes No

Admission

Application Deadline None / Rolling Jan. 15
Accepts Standardized Application Yes No
SSAT Required No Yes
Acceptance Rate
60%
57%
Director of AdmissionsAnn Snyder
Associate Director of AdmissionsSamantha Hughes

Course Listings

List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses

AP / Advanced Courses

# of AP / Advanced Courses Offered 15 16
CoursesAP Biology, AP Calculus AB, AP Calculus BC, AP Chemistry, AP Computer Science, AP English Literature and Composition, AP Environmental Science, AP Music Theory, AP Spanish, AP Statistics, AP US Government, AP US History, AP World History, Fine Arts Emphasis Diploma, Math & Science Emphasis Diploma, Robotics

Sports

# Interscholastic Sports Offered 10 14
SportsBasketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Dance, Equestrian, Golf, Soccer, Swimming, Tennis, Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total Extracurricular Organizations 12 23
ExtracurricularsAmbassadors Club, Chorus, Class, E.L.A., Ecology Club, Honor, National, Outreach, Periscript, Prefects, Social, Student

College Matriculation

Year: 10 Most Popular College Choices  (# Enrolled)
Link to Matriculation Data

School Notes

  • Stuart Hall is unlike other boarding schools in the United States. Outstanding preparation for college is a given, and our students go to top colleges and universities every year, including Cornell, UVA, RISD, NYU, The College of Wiliam and Mary, UCLA, Berkeley, and more. Our 15 AP courses and integrated curriculum are just a piece of who we are.  What makes Stuart Hall unique are it's downtown location in a small city where you can walk to coffee shops or restaurants from your dorm room, its culture of kindness and service, and accelerated Emphasis Programs in STEM and the Arts. Stuart Hall allows students the freedom to be whoever they choose to be, and our school culture reflects that. Find out more today. 
  • School accreditations: NAIS, VAIS, TABS
  • Sample of notable school alumni/alumnae:
    • Juliette Gordon Low - Founder of the Girl Scouts of America
    • Denise Wooldridge - Executive at Kraft Foods
    • Annette Smith Parker - Vice President, Dickinson College
    • Kelly Driscoll - Alum & Faculty Member of Rhode Island School of Design
    • Dejon Mayberry - Speech Writer for President Gerald Ford
    • Marijane Meeker - Publishes as M.E. Kerr, ALA Margaret Edwards Award
    • Anne McCaffrey - Winner of Hugo Award and Nebula Award
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Grades: 8-12, PG | 181 students 22.7 miles1000 Samuel Miller Loop
    CharlottesvilleVA 22903
    434-823-4805
    22.78-12, PG181
  • Chatham Hall
    All-girls  (Episcopal)
    Grades: 9-12 | 140 students 93.1 miles800 Chatham Hall Circle
    ChathamVA 24531
    434-432-5516
    93.19-12140
  • Foxcroft School
    All-girls 
    Grades: 9-12, PG | 151 students 91.9 milesP.O. Box 5555
    MiddleburgVA 20118
    540-687-4340
    91.99-12, PG151
  • St. Margaret's School
    All-girls  (Episcopal)
    Grades: 8-12 | 125 students 121.7 miles444 Water Lane PO Box 158
    TappahannockVA 22560
    804-443-3357
    121.78-12125
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 308 students 114.3 miles8328 Georgetown Pike
    McLeanVA 22102-1200
    703-556-8273
    114.39-12, PG308
Recent Articles
10 Top Reasons to Go to Boarding School
June 19, 2017
There are many reasons to go to boarding school. The academics, the athletics and the extracurricular activities are just a few considerations. Here are the 10 top reasons why you should go to boarding school.
Why Boarding School?
June 03, 2017
Is boarding school right for you? Boarding schools offer a wealth of experiences in both learning and living which will do you well in later life.
Looking at Schools
June 03, 2017
Do you like large schools or small schools? Are you most comfortable in a city, small town or countryside? Are you interested in attending a school that has a religious or military orientation? Would you like to attend a school that is only for boys or girls? These are some questions you must ask yourself before you begin your search for the right U.S. boarding school for you.
Featured Schools
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Country of Citizenship:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone: