Stuart Hall School

5.00 5 1 (7 reviews)
Tel: 540-213-3746
235 West Frederick Street
Staunton, VA 24401
previous
Founded in 1844, Stuart Hall School is one of the oldest and most respected independent schools in the nation. Our students enjoy the benefits of a long-standing, global alumni network upon graduating.
next
Founded in 1844, Stuart Hall School is one of the oldest and most respected independent schools in the nation. Our students enjoy the benefits of a long-standing, global alumni network upon graduating.
Our campus community is one of openness, trust, and fun. Stuart Hall School fosters lifelong friendships in the context of an academically rigorous and socially supportive environment.
Students at Stuart Hall School come from all over the nation and the world. Our community is built on mutual trust and academic inquiry, and we seek to develop the personal character, honor, and creativity of each member of our school.
Our Math & Science Emphasis program allows students to engage with Math the Sciences on a deeper level through research, independent projects, and a schedule focused on Pre-Engineering, Pre-Med, or Mathematics.
Fine Arts Emphasis at Stuart Hall School allows students to discover their passion and sends students to prestigious arts programs in the areas of Music, Visual Art, and Theatre every year.
Stuart Hall School offers a competitive and successful athletics program that teaches students the value of sportsmanship, leadership and teamwork.
Academic inquiry and risk-taking lay an important foundation to our curriculum. Students are encouraged to explore new courses and areas of study they hadn't previously considered. Because of our small class size, every student is known, supported, and challenged to grow as an individual throughout their time at Stuart Hall.
Our historic campus is located in downtown Staunton, Virginia. Students enjoy the freedom afforded them by this safe environment; whether walking into town to study at a coffee shop or spending free time at local shops and restaurants, our students get a taste of the college experience early-on in the context of our safe, small town.
  • Stuart Hall School, a member of (Episcopal) Church Schools in the Diocese of Virginia, educates the whole child -mind, body, heart, spirit - in a nurturing environment based on honor and respect.
  • The school is coed day grades Pre-K - 12 boarding in grades 8 - 12.
  • Personal attention encourages high academic acheivement, excellence in the arts, and comfortable student-faculty interaction.
  • The campus is located in the historic district of the city of Staunton, Virginia- home to the Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library, Mary Baldwin College, the American Shakespeare Center's Blackfriars Playhouse, the Frontier Cultural Museum, Blue Ridge Parkway, and a variety of restaurants, coffee shops, and boutiques.
  • Nearby Charlottesville, offers additional cultural and sporting events at the University of Virginia, and, within 2 hours' drive, Richmond and Washington, D.C. offer even more historic and cosmopolitan opportunities for our students.

Alumni Reviews
  Review School

  • Review Description

  • Class of 2017
    5 Stars   6/16/2017
    None (gap year)
    Unlike most boarding schools in the United States which tend to have large campuses in rather rural or otherwise secluded areas, Stuart Hall School has a rather small campus located inside a small town and. . .
  • Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
    Stuart Hall's diverse community and the sense of family are two of the many very important aspects that make the school unique. Small class sizes provide the opportunity for all types of students to. . .
  • VCU
    My boarding school was actually co-ed during the academic day, but only girls boarded (though I think now the boarding has become co-ed presently). . .

  • Class of 1998
    5 Stars   7/11/2004
    University of Virginia
    Stuart Hall's small class sizes and caring faculty really do give it the "family" atmosphere that it advertises. While at Stuart Hall I had many opportunities to explore. . .

  • Class of 1985
    5 Stars   10/18/2017
    Emory & Henry
    Stuart Hall ("Stu") is co-ed and has both a boarding and day school option. It covers the entire educational spectrum from K-12 in a historic setting (founded in 1844) in the small town of. . .
  • Show more reviews (2 reviews)
Definition of Terms 
2017 School Data
Stuart Hall SchoolBoarding School Avg.
School FocusCollege PrepCollege Preparatory
Grades Offered (Boarding)8-129-12
Grades Offered (Day)Pre-K-129-12
School TypeCo-edCo-ed
Religious AffiliationEpiscopalNon-denominational
Year Founded18441910
Campus Size15 acres106 acres

Student Body

Enrollment280 students300 students
% Students of Color
20%
20%
% International Students
20%
20%
% Students Boarding
50%
66%
Average SAT Score1720* National Avg. »View
SAT range (25th-75th percentile)1470 - 1950-
Offers Post-Grad YearNoNo

Academics and Faculty

Saturday ClassesNoNo
Classroom Dress CodeCasualCasual
Average Class Size10 students12
*National School Avg. » 20
Teacher : Student Ratio1:81:7
# of AP / Advanced Courses Offered1516
ESL Courses OfferedYesYes
% Faculty with Advanced Degree
75%
70%
Summer Program OfferedNoYes

Finances

Endowment Size$5 million$17 million
Yearly Tuition
(Boarding Students)
$48,000$52,700
Yearly Tuition
(Day Students)
$15,100$28,200
Tuition international students$48,000$47,400
Yearly Tuition
(5 Day Boarding)
$33,000$37,945
% Students on Financial Aid
45%
36%
Avg. Financial Aid Grant$25,000$22,410
Merit Scholarships OfferedYesNo

Admission

Application DeadlineNone / RollingJan. 15
Accepts Standardized ApplicationYesNo
SSAT RequiredNoYes
Acceptance Rate
60%
56%
Director of AdmissionsAnn Snyder
Associate Director of AdmissionsSamantha Hughes

Course Listings

List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses

AP / Advanced Courses

# of AP / Advanced Courses Offered1516
CoursesAP Biology, AP Calculus AB, AP Calculus BC, AP Chemistry, AP Computer Science, AP English Literature and Composition, AP Environmental Science, AP Music Theory, AP Spanish, AP Statistics, AP US Government, AP US History, AP World History, Fine Arts Emphasis Diploma, Math & Science Emphasis Diploma, Robotics

Sports

# Interscholastic Sports Offered1014
SportsBasketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Dance, Equestrian, Golf, Soccer, Swimming, Tennis, Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total Extracurricular Organizations1223
ExtracurricularsAmbassadors Club, Chorus, Class, E.L.A., Ecology Club, Honor, National, Outreach, Periscript, Prefects, Social, Student

College Matriculation

Year: 10 Most Popular College Choices  (# Enrolled)
Link to Matriculation Data

School Notes

  • Stuart Hall is unlike other boarding schools in the United States. Outstanding preparation for college is a given, and our students go to top colleges and universities every year, including Cornell, UVA, RISD, NYU, The College of Wiliam and Mary, UCLA, Berkeley, and more. Our 15 AP courses and integrated curriculum are just a piece of who we are.  What makes Stuart Hall unique are it's downtown location in a small city where you can walk to coffee shops or restaurants from your dorm room, its culture of kindness and service, and accelerated Emphasis Programs in STEM and the Arts. Stuart Hall allows students the freedom to be whoever they choose to be, and our school culture reflects that. Find out more today. 
  • School accreditations: NAIS, VAIS, TABS
  • Sample of notable school alumni/alumnae:
    • Juliette Gordon Low - Founder of the Girl Scouts of America
    • Denise Wooldridge - Executive at Kraft Foods
    • Annette Smith Parker - Vice President, Dickinson College
    • Kelly Driscoll - Alum & Faculty Member of Rhode Island School of Design
    • Dejon Mayberry - Speech Writer for President Gerald Ford
    • Marijane Meeker - Publishes as M.E. Kerr, ALA Margaret Edwards Award
    • Anne McCaffrey - Winner of Hugo Award and Nebula Award
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Grades: 8-12, PG | 170 students 22.7 miles1000 Samuel Miller Loop
    CharlottesvilleVA 22903
    434-823-4805
    22.78-12, PG170
  • Chatham Hall
    All-girls  (Episcopal)
    Grades: 9-12 | 140 students 93.1 miles800 Chatham Hall Circle
    ChathamVA 24531
    434-432-5516
    93.19-12140
  • Foxcroft School
    All-girls 
    Grades: 9-12, PG | 151 students 91.9 milesP.O. Box 5555
    MiddleburgVA 20118
    540-687-4340
    91.99-12, PG151
  • St. Margaret's School
    All-girls  (Episcopal)
    Grades: 8-12 | 125 students 121.7 miles444 Water Lane PO Box 158
    TappahannockVA 22560
    804-443-3357
    121.78-12125
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 308 students 114.3 miles8328 Georgetown Pike
    McLeanVA 22102-1200
    703-556-8273
    114.39-12, PG308
Recent Articles
Choosing a School: Comparing Schools
September 28, 2017
Use a spreadsheet to develop your initial list of schools. Here's how.
How Can an Educational Consultant Help with a Boarding School Search?
September 28, 2017
Finding the right boarding school for your child is one of the most important and expensive decisions you will ever make.
The St. Grottlesex Schools
September 05, 2017
Generous financial aid and a commitment to diversity are hallmarks of the 21st century release of St. Grottlesex. More here.
Featured Schools
Request Information
I am a:
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Country of Citizenship:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone: