Trinity-Pawling School

700 Route 22
Pawling, NY 12564
previous
next
Trinity-Pawling School Photo #1 - Find your home away from home on our stunning 230-acre campus. We're a buzzing community, with 8 dorms, state-of-the-art athletic facilities, a chapel, and an Arts Center with a theater and painting studios. Zip into New York City by train for cultural activities, or enjoy the great outdoors just minutes from campus.
Trinity-Pawling School Photo #2 - One of the School`s most distinctive attributes is its signatory Effort System. Each boy at Trinity-Pawling is recognized and assessed in terms of the effort he devotes to a given endeavor. The learning objective inherent in this ethos of effort is to teach young people that the more they invest of themselves the greater their accomplishments will be.
Trinity-Pawling School Photo #3 - At Trinity-Pawling, your sport of choice can be Varsity Farming! The farming program centers on the concepts of sustainability and stewardship of the land through campus-based food production, composting, recycling, and renewable energy.
Trinity-Pawling School Photo #4 - At Trinity-Pawling, innovation is a key component of our curriculum. Every day, faculty and students engage in hands-on learning, creating, designing, and prototyping-and our Innovation Sites (I-Sites) make it all possible! These 3 dedicated spaces on campus are a home base for collaboration, creativity, and exploration.
Trinity-Pawling School Photo #5 - At Trinity-Pawling, we strive to give every athlete, regardless of talent, a tremendous experience. We strive to get to know each young man on a personal level and to serve as mentors in their lives-challenging them to become the best version of themselves.
Trinity-Pawling School Photo #6 - At Trinity-Pawling, you are surrounded by a welcoming and supportive community where you'll feel right at home. From your teachers and dorm parents to your peers, you'll have mentors every step of the way.
Trinity-Pawling School Photo #7 - Make yourself at home at Trinity-Pawling. And then leap out of your comfort zone. As a brotherhood, we're a caring community that will push you to be nothing short of extraordinary.
Trinity-Pawling School Photo #8 - Our instructors are teachers and accomplished professional artists who are active in their fields. You'll learn from the best, and you'll do it in our Arts Center, a showpiece in itself, which houses a 400-seat theater, state-of-the-art sound system, rehearsal spaces, and practice rooms so you can discover and nurture your passions.
Trinity-Pawling School Photo #9 - The Smith Field House is a 20,000-square-foot facility, which houses a gymnasium, two full basketball courts, an additional half court and workout area, locker rooms, a trophy area, and an Athletic Hall of Fame room. The building not only serves as a state-of-the-art athletic facility, but is also enjoyed daily as a student social center and gathering space.
Trinity-Pawling School Photo #10 - Each year, students with learning differences graduate from Trinity-Pawling prepared for college and beyond. The School`s Center for Learning Achievement recognizes the potential in each and every one of these students. For over 45 years, this signature program and individualized academic support have been providing an environment where students are transformed.
  • At Trinity-Pawling, we see that spark of greatness in each boy. We help our students turn hopes into achievement and hard work into results. Along the way, they discover that greatness takes many forms - a breakthrough English paper, an act of kindness, a game winning goal. It's all about discovering talents and putting them into action.
  • At Trinity-Pawling, no one sits on the sidelines. Get ready, go far.

School News

  • STUDENT SPOTLIGHT: LUCAS HUGHES ’20 - 12/12/2019 - For Lucas Hughes `20, serving as the Prefect of Zeal is all about building connections. "My role has given me a pathway to meet everyone and really get to know ...morethem," Hughes began. "And it allows other students, who may not necessarily know one another very well, to come together in the same place, doing the same thing. It`s so rewarding." As the Prefect of Zeal, his main focus is school spirit - keeping the excitement and support high in the stands, on the sidelines, and across campus.

    When Hughes was first given his zeal assignment by Headmaster Taylor, he initially felt uncertain. "I`ll admit that it was hard to navigate at first, but the more I do it, the more I`ve realized that being the Prefect of Zeal really just means leading by example," Hughes shared. "When I`m hyped and cheering at our games or school events, it helps to rally everyone to do the same."

    With the fall term behind us, Hughes is proud of his school spirit efforts and plans to keep that momentum. "Spirit Week was by far my favorite part of the fall term. Organizing the events was challenging at times but I think everyone had a blast and that makes it all worth it," Hughes explained. "I`m so thankful for Ms. Najman, Mr. Keel, and so many other teachers. They really helped to put my ideas into action!"
    The fall Spirit Week featured a series of themed dress-down days, spike ball, dodgeball, and Capture the Flag tournaments in the Smith Field House, a free throw competition, ping pong tournaments, and much more. To top it all off, at the Friday night football game, Hughes put together a group called the Style Boys to perform a song and dance at half-time. "It was another fun way to get everyone excited, entertained, and having a great time. That`s what it`s all about!"

    The fall athletic season may be over, but Hughes hasn`t missed a beat with keeping school spirit high. "I have some big plans for the winter term," he shared with a smile. "I want to organize sled races, pond hockey tournaments, and ice-skating races. I`d also like to organize events on campus that help to raise awareness of important and relevant issues - like men`s mental health. And of course, another Spirit Week is in the works too." It will be a busy term for Hughes, as he balances his senior wrestling season, AP classes, and extracurriculars; but he is excited to continue building the spirit of brotherhood that makes Trinity-Pawling so special."

    There`s nothing else like the support of the T-P brotherhood. Coming together and being there to cheer each other on is what makes this school so great, in my opinion," Hughes concluded. "It`s about something bigger than ourselves. We can do anything with the right energy and support behind us. And that`s what we have here in the Pride."
    hide
  • A UNIFIED VOICE - 12/12/2019 - Trinity-Pawling`s Student Senate has been around since the early 1990s, established for students to voice their opinions and promote good communication between all segments of the school community. It is ...morecomposed of boarding and day students from all grade levels, elected by their classmates or appointed by faculty members. Dean of Faculty Todd Hoffman became the faculty advisor of the Senate when he joined the School in 2001. Year to year, he has witnessed the Senate evolve and change - but the importance of its presence on campus has remained steady."

    Students in the Senate learn to listen to one another, work together, and find logical solutions to their concerns on campus," shared Hoffman. "It`s such a rewarding experience for them."

    At the start of this school year, the Senate was reinvigorated and currently has over 40 members! Dean of Residential Life Dutch Keel was thrilled with the high interest level of students running for a spot in the Senate - but it did not come without challenges. "That`s a lot of voices in one room," Keel shared. "In the first meeting, the boys quickly learned that listening is crucial, especially when working together for the common good."

    Now two months into the school year, the Student Senate has already seen success with some of their proposed changes on campus. "Key card access was new at the start of the year. In the first month of school, members of the Senate proposed that dorm access be extended in the evenings to promote peer collaboration and extra help," shared Keel. "And they were successful!"

    Keel explained that one of the most important takeaways for students in the Senate is experiencing the process: listening to their constituents, proposing a reasonable solution, communicating the benefits of their suggestions, and working cohesively as a team. "They are building leadership and communication skills every step of the way."

    Lucas Hughes `20 is an active member of the Student Senate this year. "Our goal is to make life at Trinity-Pawling the best it can be for students," Hughes shared. "We are focused on receiving new ideas, discussing the pros and cons, and proposing ways to implement them on campus." Hughes and his fellow members of the Senate are proud to be the voice for the student body. Sony Wang `23 is in his first year serving in the Senate and believes its importance is unmatched. "The Senate gives every student a chance to give their opinions to the School and Headmaster Taylor." Quite simply, it allows the students to be heard."

    They`re learning to build a unified voice," shared English teacher Cyrus Rothwell-Ferraris, who is working as a faculty advisor of the Student Senate this year. "The boys have a chance to work in a self-governed space and see outcomes that precisely reflect how well they manage their meetings. It`s a valuable learning experience all around."

    As the Senate continues to meet throughout the year, its members are eager to see their suggestions come to life on campus. "It`s all about growth-personally and collectively as a school," concluded Hughes. "We`re looking forward to seeing more of our ideas in action."
    hide
  • LEADING THE WAY AT TRINITY-PAWLING: MEET THE PREFECTS - 12/12/2019 - Each spring at Trinity-Pawling`s time-honored Stepping Up ceremony, a small group of rising seniors are elected as prefects for the upcoming year. Derived from the Latin word for leader, prefects ...moreare voted in by the student body and faculty, serving as student leaders and modeling the School`s ideals of honor, respect, and hard work. Eight prefects were elected for the 2019-2020 school year, earning the honor by demonstrating their commitment to the School and most importantly, to their peers. At the beginning of each school year, Headmaster Bill Taylor assigns each prefect a specific area of oversight as part of that young man`s leadership responsibilities. Here`s a snapshot into the Class of 2020 Prefects and their plans for the year ahead:

    Solomon Hess `20, Head Prefect
    "When I was a new freshman, the prefects were the guys that I looked up to the most. Filling that role now, I`m excited to carry the torch and I know it`s up to me to not let my classmates down. My plan for the year is to do what I`ve always done: be there for the entirety of the student body, stay as involved in the community as possible, and do everything I can to improve the community for all its members. It helps to have an outstanding group alongside me!"

    Ben Yoon `20, Junior Prefect
    "Headmaster Taylor appointed me as the prefect of academics. I plan to keep an ear out for any concerns from students regarding their academic work, seeing what I can do to help them manage their workload. As a prefect, I think it`s important to set a standard for the boys at T-P to live by, and to help anyone who needs it as much as I can."

    Richard Bolding `20
    "I am the prefect of student life. My goal for this year is to have people of all different backgrounds come together and really get to know one another. To me, being a prefect means being a voice for my peers. It means doing things to make everyone`s time here memorable and fun while setting a good example and showing leadership."

    Trevor Cole `20
    "I am the prefect of the arts and music. I hope to coordinate with Mr. Kelsey and Mr. Reade to put arts events together throughout the year - like the Jazz Band playing during half-time at the homecoming football game. I also want to encourage new students (who don`t participate in the arts) to try something new!"

    Daniel Csaszar `20
    "Mr. Taylor appointed me the prefect of service, which goes along well with my position as the President of National Honor Society. I want to help students find joy in helping others and giving back to both the T-P and local communities. To me, being a prefect means putting your best foot forward, looking out for your brothers, and taking time out of your day to do the right thing. I really want everyone to feel like they have a home at T-P. We may have different views and backgrounds, but at the end of the day, we`re all one big family."

    Henry Daniel `20
    "I am the prefect of honor. Throughout the year, I want to emphasize the importance of honor and integrity at T-P, both academically and as a community. Being a prefect is very important to me. It`s our duty to make this special place even greater!"Lucas Hughes `20"Mr. Taylor has put me in charge of zeal. I am responsible for creating and keeping school spirit on campus. I organize events to bring the brotherhood together and support one another - like bonfires, pep rallies, and more. I want to encourage my peers to be involved in as much as they can-go to the games, cheer on the teams, and be engaged!"

    Stephen Willey `20
    "I am the prefect of victuals-which means food. My main focus this year will be to keep in touch with the dining hall and Cave staff, sharing the fan favorites that we all enjoy and giving them feedback to help prepare for future meals. I`m proud to be a prefect this year. Being a role model and being there for my brothers means a lot to me."
    hide

Top 20 Placements

Trinity-Pawling School is listed among the top 20 boarding schools (out of 314 schools) for:

Definition of Terms
 | 2019 School Data
Trinity-PawlingBoarding School Avg.
School FocusCollege PrepCollege Preparatory
Grades Offered (Boarding)8-12, PG9-12
Grades Offered (Day)7-12, PG9-12
School TypeAll-boysCo-ed
ADD/ADHD SupportYesYes
Supports Learning Differences (LD)YesYes
Religious AffiliationEpiscopalNon-denominational
Year Founded19071909
Campus Size230 acres110 acres

Student Body

Enrollment299 students320 students
% Students of Color
11%
23%
% International Students
20%
20%
% Students Boarding
75%
70%
Average SAT Score1210* National Avg. »View
SAT range (25th-75th percentile)950 - 1250-
Average ACT score27*National Avg. » View
Offers Post-Grad YearYesNo

Academics and Faculty

Saturday ClassesYesNo
Frequency of Saturday ClassesLess than once a monthWeekly
Classroom Dress CodeFormalCasual
Average Class Size12 students12
*National School Avg. » 20
Teacher : Student Ratio1:61:7
# of AP / Advanced Courses Offered1618
ESL Courses OfferedYesYes
% Faculty with Advanced Degree
65%
69%
Summer Program OfferedNoYes

Finances

Endowment Size$45 million$20 million
Yearly Tuition
(Boarding Students)
$62,000$57,650
Yearly Tuition
(Day Students)
$44,000
(7th & 8th Grade Day - $29,750)
$30,400
Yearly Tuition
(5 Day Boarding)
$47,500$42,000
% Students on Financial Aid
50%
38%
Avg. Financial Aid Grant$28,500$25,000
Merit Scholarships OfferedNoNo

Admission

Application DeadlineJan. 15 / rollingJan. 15
Accepts Standardized ApplicationYesNo
SSAT RequiredYesYes
Acceptance Rate
50%
57%
Director of AdmissionsJP Burlington '95
Associate Director of AdmissionsKim DeFonce

Course Listings

List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses

AP / Advanced Courses

# of AP / Advanced Courses Offered1618
CoursesAP Physics 1, AP Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism, AP Physics C: Mechanics, Biology, Calculus, Chemistry, Computer Science, Economics, English Language & Composition, English Literature & Composition, Environmental Science, European History, Statistics, U.S. History

Sports

# Interscholastic Sports Offered1416
SportsBaseball, Basketball, Cross Country, Cross Country Running, Football, Golf, Ice Hockey, Lacrosse, Soccer, Squash, Tennis, Track, Track and Field, Wrestling

Extracurriculars

Total Extracurricular Organizations6223
ExtracurricularsClub or Organization:
3D Printing Club, Acolytes & Vergers, Allies (LGBTQ), Amen Boys, Asian Society, Aviation Club, Baking Club, Bridge Club, Cheese Club, Chess Club, Coffee and Tea Club, Computer Programming Club, Computer Repair Club, Cooking Club, Cribbage Club, Dead Politics Club, Deans Assistants, Debate Club, Diversity Club, Dog Walking Club, Dorm Proctors, Drone Club, Dungeons and Dragons, Environmental Council, Finance Club, Key Club, Knitting Club, Literary Club, Math Club, Mindfulness Club, MIT Launch Club, Mock Trial Club, Model UN, National Honor Society, Poker Club, Random Acts of Kindness Club, Reading, Relay For Life, Spirit Club, Strategy Board Games, Student Activities, Student Senate, Student's Corner, The Phoenix School Newspaper, Usher Club, Vital Signs Science Magazine

Arts and Music Programs:
Anime Club, Drama Club, Drumming Club, Film Club, Jazz Club, Pottery Club, Radio Station, String Music Club, Theater, Trinitones

Recreational Athletic Programs:
Health & Wellness, Mountain Biking Club, Outdoor Club, Quarterback Club, Strength and Conditioning, Yoga Club

College Matriculation

Year: 201710 Most Popular College Choices  (# Enrolled)
Hobart and William Smith Colleges31
Trinity College18
University of Vermont17
Syracuse University16
St. Lawrence University15
Boston University12
Emory University12
Elon University11
George Washington University11
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute11
Link to Matriculation Data

School Notes

  • Founded in 1907, Trinity-Pawling School is an all-boys college preparatory school located in Pawling, New York. The school serves boys in grades 7-12 and offers a postgraduate program.
  • The goal of a Trinity-Pawling education is to unlock the potential for greatness that exists in each boy. The School pursues this goal through a vigorous learning environment that emphasizes innovation, creativity, and critical thinking. A commitment to project-based and experiential learning acknowledges the research that is proven to be successful for boys.
  • A camaraderie of "brotherhood" is enhanced by a family of educators and students who are dedicated to building a culture of excellence and honor. The Trinity-Pawling learning experience combines a timeless commitment to character with a dedication to prepare young men for an ever-changing world.
  • One of the School`s most distinctive attributes is its signatory Effort System, which began 50 years ago. The Effort System is Trinity-Pawling`s distinct approach to inspiring and measuring student growth. It assesses students in multiple dimensions: academics, dorm life, athletics, work program, and extracurricular involvement. Through this ethos of effort, we challenge young men to become ambitious, well-rounded individuals in all aspects of life.
  • The School`s Center for Learning Achievement recognizes the potential in each and every student. For over 45 years, this signature program and individualized academic support has provided an environment where students are transformed - achieving their academic goals in ways they never expected, finding their confidence, and preparing for their futures. 
  • Trinity-Pawling's student-athletes range from lifelong players to novices - everyone plays sports at their level of experience and ability. The Pride competes in the Founders League, a highly competitive prep-school arena where student-athletes are prepared for college-level competition. Rather than specializing in one sport, coaches encourage boys to try a sport every season to develop their skills, sportsmanship, and self-discipline.
  • LD types supported: Dyslexia
  • Trinity-Pawling School accreditations: New York Association of Independent Schools and New York State Board of Regents
  • Sample of notable school alumni/alumnae:
    • Christopher Wren ’54 - Retired from The New York Times after nearly twenty-nine years as a reporter, foreign correspondent, and editor. He is the author of Those Turbulent Sons of Freedom and Walking to Vermont.
    • Paul Rachman ’78 - Is an American film director who directed the highly praised 2006 documentary American Hardcore, which premiered at the Sundance Film Festival and was released by Sony Pictures Classics.
    • Andrew Masset ’67 - Is an actor, known for Halt and Catch Fire, Remember the Titans, and Kill the Messenger.
    • Michael Melford ’68 - Is an American photographer, artist and teacher known for his National Geographic magazine assignments.
    • Joseph Callo ’48 - Is a Naval History Magazine Author of the Year. His most recent book is a memoir titled The Sea Was Always There. His book John Paul Jones: America’s First Sea Warrior is the 2006 winner of the Samuel Eliot Morison Award by the Naval Order of the US
    • Chukky Okobi ’96 - NFL football player, Pittsburgh Steelers, 2001–07, Super Bowl XL Champion
    • Maurice Vaughn ’86 - MLB first baseman, three-time All-Star, AL MVP
    • Gil Junger ’72 - Is an American director for Touchstone Pictures, most famous for 10 Things I Hate About You
    • Shayne Skov ’09 - American NFL football player, San Francisco 49ers

Profile last updated:

Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Salisbury School
    Salisbury School Photo - Salisbury School
    All-boys 
    Grades: 9-12, PG | 310 students 31.5 miles251 Canaan Road
    SalisburyCT 06068
    (860)435-5732
    31.59-12, PG310
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 409 students 41.7 miles500 Old Farms Road
    AvonCT 06001
    (800)464-2866
    41.79-12, PG409
  • Kent School
    Kent School Photo - Our campus is located along the shores of the Housatonic River, adjacent to the town of Kent.
    (Episcopal)
    Grades: 9-12, PG | 580 students 7.6 milesPO Box 2006
    KentCT 06757
    (860)927-6111
    7.69-12, PG580
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 328 students 9.5 miles101 Aspetuck Avenue
    New MilfordCT 06776
    (860)210-3832
    9.59-12, PG328
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 310 students 19.8 miles131 Millbrook School Road
    MillbrookNY 12545
    (845)677-8261
    19.89-12, PG310
Recent Articles
Learn about the benefits of attending a Quaker boarding school.
Sustainable schools have become a part of our 21st century educational fabric.
Thinking about sending your tween to boarding school? The personal attention and comprehensive programs which junior boarding schools offer are worth a serious review.
Featured Schools
Request Information
Note: Please complete our inquiry form. We look forward to learning more about you and your family!

Schedule a visit! Visiting campus is the best way to see what Trinity-Pawling has to offer and to get a feel of our community. During your visit, you will tour the campus with a student and interview with an admissions representative. To set up a visit, please contact us at admissions@trinitypawling.org or 845.855.4825

Apply! Trinity-Pawling uses SSAT`s Standard Application Online (SAO) as our singular application. Complete the online application by January 15.  

International Students for whom English is a second language, we require all applicants whose first language is not English to adequately demonstrate English competency as a part of the application process. In addition to the SSAT, PSAT, or SAT, you should take the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) or International English Language Testing System (IELTS).
I am a:
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Country of Citizenship:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone: