Emma Willard School

Alumni Reviews
  Review School

  • Review Description

  • Class of 2014
    5 Stars   12/27/2014
    Northeastern University
    Emma Willard is especially good at facilitating discussion based classrooms using the Harkness Method. I am finding now that I am in college classes that are all large lectures that Emma Willard's teachers were especially. . .

  • Class of 2014
    5 Stars   8/14/2014
    Washington University in St. Louis
    Emma Willard's home on Mount Ida is in itself one of a kind. The moment you step on campus, you enter a different world of gray stone walls and unbridled passion. Emma Willard's small, close-knit. . .

  • Class of 2010
    5 Stars   9/24/2013
    Dartmouth College
    One of my favorite parts about Emma Willard was the round table method of teaching. All humanities classes were taught around a round table, so that all of the students could see one another. Teachers. . .

  • Class of 2005
    5 Stars   9/24/2013
    Marymount University
    EWS is unique in that it enables the students to find what they love and pursue it as much as possible. There is no typical Emma girl and that is what makes the school so. . .

  • Class of 2000
    5 Stars   9/24/2013
    Davidson College
    Emma Willard is truly a magical place where girls develop academic interests, become more self aware and form lifelong friendships. While an girls school isn't for everyone, it truly helps girls develop into unique. . .
  • Show more reviews (4 reviews)

Top 20 Placements

Listed among the top 20 boarding schools (out of 329 schools) for:

Definition of Terms 
2017 School Data
Emma Willard SchoolBoarding School Avg.
School FocusCollege PrepCollege Preparatory
Grades Offered9-12, PG9-12
School TypeAll-girlsCo-ed
Religious AffiliationNon-denominationalNon-denominational
Year Founded18141910
Campus Size137 acres105 acres

Student Body

Enrollment358 students300 students
% Students of Color
19%
20%
% International Students
21%
20%
% Students Boarding
62%
66%
Average SAT Score1991* National Avg. »View
SAT range (25th-75th percentile)1819 - 2150-
Average ACT score27*National Avg. » View
Offers Post-Grad YearYesNo

Academics and Faculty

Saturday ClassesNoNo
Classroom Dress CodeCasualCasual
Teacher : Student Ratio1:61:7
# of AP / Advanced Courses Offered2316
ESL Courses OfferedNoYes
% Faculty with Advanced Degree
75%
70%
Summer Program OfferedYesYes

Finances

Endowment Size$93 million$17 million
Yearly Tuition
(Boarding Students)
$56,390$52,700
Yearly Tuition
(Day Students)
$34,200$28,270
% Students on Financial Aid
54%
36%
Avg. Financial Aid Grant$23,450$22,410
Merit Scholarships OfferedNoNo

Admission

Application DeadlineFeb. 1 / rollingJan. 15
Accepts Standardized ApplicationYesNo
SSAT RequiredYesYes
Average Percentile SSAT66%-
Acceptance Rate
36%
57%
Director of AdmissionsJamie Hicks-Furgang
Associate Director of AdmissionsLaura Parker Burgess '02

Sports

# Interscholastic Sports Offered1914
SportsBadminton, Ballet, Basketball, Crew, Cross Country, Dance, Diving, Field Hockey, Figure Skating, Lacrosse, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Tennis, Track, Track and Field, Ultimate Frisbee, Volleyball, Winter Track

Extracurriculars

Total Extracurricular Organizations4123
ExtracurricularsActivities Council, African Aid, Agonies, Animation Club, Black and Hispanic Awareness (BHA), Campus Players, Choir, Emma Green, Emma Now- Student Run Blog, Fair Trade Store, Fellowship of Christians at Universities and Schools (FOCUS), Foreign and American Student Organization, Gargoyle - yearbook, Gay Straight Alliance (GSA), Habitat for Humanity, Hip Hop Club, Inner Choir, Interact Club, Junior Singing Group (JSG), Language Tutors, Mock Trial, Model UN, Orchestra, Outing Club, Peer Educators,

School Notes

  • For more than 200 years, Emma Willard has been the premier school for curious, driven girls seeking “more” from their educations. Our girls—known as Emma Girls—follow in the footsteps of our founder, Madame Emma Hart Willard, who believed girls were entitled to the same quality education their brothers had, and opened her own girls’ school in 1814 at the young age of 27.
  •  Emma Willard School prides itself on being a sustained innovator in girls’ education and offers personalized programming that enables our girls to explore their personal passions hands-on—whether that means working in a biotechnology lab, getting started in journalism, building on one’s graphic artistry, investigating philanthropy, and more! Our personalized approach enables girls to expand both their minds and confidence while learning alongside likeminded girls from across the United States and world.
  •  Whether a girl is a day or boarding student, she is sure to find her place among our widely diverse student body, and will be supported by Emma’s close-knit community of faculty, staff, and advisors throughout her journey.
  •  In addition to offering a rigorous academic program designed to challenge and inspire our girls, Emma offers ample time for fun, too. Throughout the year, girls take part in our schools’ long-held traditions such as Eventide, May Day, Principal’s Playday, and the most beloved of all—the annual senior performance of Revels.
  •  Our historic campus located in Troy, New York is minutes away from our state capital in Albany and a mere three hours from major destinations in New York City, Boston, the Adirondacks, and Montreal, providing numerous opportunities for internships, weekend activities, and field trips.
  •  Although academics is top priority, on campus our girls enjoy themselves by participating on or cheering for our 12 varsity and four junior varsity athletics teams, attending dormitory teas and get-togethers with classmates, by bowling in our newly renovated bowling alley, or with one of the many games in our student center.
  •  This balanced approach of substance and fun has well-equipped our Emma Girls for life beyond our castle walls and earned them admission into colleges such as Harvard, Georgetown University, Wellesley College, the University of Norte Dame, New York University, John Hopkins University, Sarah Lawrence College, and many more.
  • School accreditations: NYSAIS
  • Sample of notable school alumni/alumnae:
    • Jane Fonda - Actress
    • Kirsten Gillibrand '84 - Junior Senator for NY State
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Grades: 9-12 | 313 students 80.7 miles60 Main Street
    FarmingtonCT 06032
    8604093530
    80.79-12313
  • Grier School
    All-girls 
    Grades: 7-12, PG | 300 students 275.1 milesP.O. Box 308
    TyronePA 16686
    814-684-3000
    275.17-12, PG300
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 862 students 97.2 miles333 Christian Street
    WallingfordCT 06492
    203-697-2239
    97.29-12, PG862
  • Westover School
    All-girls 
    Grades: 9-12 | 200 students 86.7 miles1237 Whittemore Rd., P.O. Box 847
    MiddleburyCT 06762
    203-577-4521
    86.79-12200
  • Grades: 9-12, PG

    6-12, PG (day)
     | 251 students
    73.2 miles230 Bushy Hill Road
    SimsburyCT 06070
    860-408-4200
    73.29-12, PG

    6-12, PG (day)
    251
Recent Articles
Choosing a School: Comparing Schools
September 28, 2017
Use a spreadsheet to develop your initial list of schools. Here's how.
How Can an Educational Consultant Help with a Boarding School Search?
September 28, 2017
Finding the right boarding school for your child is one of the most important and expensive decisions you will ever make.
The St. Grottlesex Schools
September 05, 2017
Generous financial aid and a commitment to diversity are hallmarks of the 21st century release of St. Grottlesex. More here.
Featured Schools
Request Information
I am a:
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Country of Citizenship:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone: