Forman School

5.00 5 1 (6 reviews)
Tel: 860-567-1802
12 Norfolk Road, P.O. Box 80
Litchfield, CT 06759
previous
The Forman Green is at the center of campus life. Surrounded by dorms and faculty homes, it reflects the traditional charm of an historic New England community.
next
The Forman Green is at the center of campus life. Surrounded by dorms and faculty homes, it reflects the traditional charm of an historic New England community.
Forman offers a traditional college preparatory program that balances academics with athletics, arts, clubs and other extracurricular activities.
The academic program at Forman School offers a college preparatory curriculum under the auspices of the Forman Institute for Cognition and Learning. Courses including metacognitive strategies, thinking and writing, executive function coaching, and perspectives in learning enable students to understand how they learn and develop strategies and self advocacy skills for success in college and beyond.
The Science Center opened in September 2013. The 9000 square foot building includes four state-of-the-art labs, a large commons area with the latest technology and small  math classrooms. Outside is a Raingarden that features a vernal pond and indigenous plantings used as a living lab by ecology classes.
Students participate throughout the year in Forman?'s after-class program. Activities range from competitive sports to boatbuilding to theater arts.
FALL - football, soccer, cross country, volleyball, rock climbing, boat building, theater
WINTER - ice hockey,  basketball, wrestling, coed alpine racing, dance, fitness, boatbuilding, theater
SPRING - lacrosse, tennis, baseball, crew, golf, ultimate frisbee, whitewater kayaking, equestrian, theater
This Music Program at Forman  is designed for musicians of all levels; specifically, those who want to develop their talent while having fun learning and playing music in a band. We focus on learning parts, understanding the basic language of music, playing together, improvising, and individual technique.
The Outdoor Leadership Program allows students to explore and challenge themselves in multiple areas of our 100+ acre campus and the surrounding rivers and mountains of Northwest Connecticut.
The Theater Program offers two years of acting training, half-year classes in improvisation and public speaking and a technical theater class. Auditions for co-curricular productions are open to all students. Plays are presented at the end of each sports season; a musical is mounted each winter. For a list of performances see: www.formanschool.org/arts/performing-arts
Forman has a total of 13 dormitories on campus. The majority (85%) of students are boarders, but day students are invited to participate fully in evening study halls, meals, social events and other campus activities.
  • Forman School is an independent, coeducational, college preparatory school for bright students with identified learning differences.
  • Based on his or her unique learning profile, Forman develops the whole student so that every graduate becomes an educated, confident, self-advocate throughout life.
  • Founded in 1930, on the belief that many gifted students were not being adequately served by traditional teaching methods, the founders tapped Albert Einstein and Sam Orton as board members for their knowledge in the emerging fields of neuroscience and dyslexia.
  • The School serves over 200 students from 24 states and 15 countries and has a 100 percent college acceptance rate.
  • In addition to our year round program, we offer a 4-week summer school that serves students entering grades 7 -11.

Alumni Reviews
  Review School

  • Review Description

  • Class of 2015
    5 Stars   7/27/2016
    purdue university
    The school felt like home. I know everyone and I know it sounds cliche but it was it was my home away from home. I had dorm parents who I respected like parent. They took. . .

  • Class of 2011
    5 Stars   8/14/2016
    Clarkson University
    There are two specific things that make Forman unique. The first being the location of the school. The second benign the immense about of different programs and extracurricular star Forman had to offer. . .

  • Class of 2006
    5 Stars   7/27/2016
    Bryant University
    Forman was a transformative experience for me, both in terms of my education and my personal development. Also, Forman's small size, quaint campus and close-nit community made warming up to a new place and people. . .

  • Class of 2006
    5 Stars   7/27/2016
    New England college
    I felt the school made me feel like I still had family there that cared about me even though it was my immediate family I have acquired some great friends and relationships . The teaching. . .

  • Class of 1995
    5 Stars   7/27/2016
    Parsons School of Design
    Forman School is a unique school as it specializes in students that have some form of learning disability. With one on one classes and individual support students have the full support of the faculty and. . .
  • Show more reviews (1 reviews)

Top 20 Placements

Listed among the top 20 boarding schools (out of 329 schools) for:

Definition of Terms 
2017 School Data
Forman SchoolBoarding School Avg.
School FocusCollege PrepCollege Preparatory
Grades Offered9-12, PG9-12
School TypeCo-edCo-ed
Supports Learning Differences (LD)YesYes
Religious AffiliationNon-denominationalNon-denominational
Year Founded19301910
Campus Size125 acres105 acres

Student Body

Enrollment218 students300 students
% Students of Color
7%
20%
% International Students
10%
20%
% Students Boarding
86%
66%
Average SAT Scoren/a* National Avg. »View
Offers Post-Grad YearYesNo

Academics and Faculty

Saturday ClassesYesNo
Frequency of Saturday ClassesWeeklyWeekly
Classroom Dress CodeFormal
(blazer, khaki pants)
Casual
Average Class Size8 students12
*National School Avg. » 20
Teacher : Student Ratio1:41:7
# of AP / Advanced Courses Offered316
ESL Courses OfferedNoYes
% Faculty with Advanced Degree
56%
70%
Summer Program OfferedYesYes

Finances

Endowment Size$8 million$17 million
Yearly Tuition
(Boarding Students)
$73,730$52,700
Yearly Tuition
(Day Students)
$60,275$28,270
% Students on Financial Aid
21%
36%
Avg. Financial Aid Grant$18,500$22,410
Merit Scholarships OfferedNoNo

Admission

Application DeadlineNone / RollingJan. 15
Accepts Standardized ApplicationYesNo
SSAT RequiredNoYes
Acceptance Rate
70%
57%
Director of AdmissionsDuncan Marshall '67
Associate Director of AdmissionsWayne Clarke

Sports

# Interscholastic Sports Offered2114
SportsAlpine Skiing, Baseball, Basketball, Crew, Cross Country, Dance, Equestrian, Football, Golf, Ice Hockey, Kayaking, Lacrosse, Rock Climbing, Sailing, Snowboarding, Soccer, Softball, Tennis, Ultimate Frisbee, Volleyball, Wrestling

Extracurriculars

Total Extracurricular Organizations1223
ExtracurricularsCommunity Service Club, Jazz Club, Model UN, National Honor Society, Outdoor Leadership, Over 25 student-run clubs, Rock and Blues Band, Student Government, Student Leader Program, Theater Arts, Tour Guide Program, Yearbook

School Notes

  • The Forman School is a coed, college preparatory boarding school for bright students in grades 9-PG, with diagnosed language-based learning differences, such as dyslexia, dysgraphia, dyscalculia, executive functioning, ADD, ADHD.
  • We employ state-of-the-art assistive technology that both supports and empowers our students.
  • Each student works with specially trained teachers to study metacognitive skills, multisensory reading, thinking and writing, and executive function coaching// Tutors are available every evening for help with homework and reinforcement of learning skills and content from class.
  • All Forman students are guided through a college preparatory curriculum and the school has a 100% college acceptance rate
  • Our extensive visual/performing arts programs, as well as 23 competitive/non-competitive athletic offerings give students an opportunity to explore new and existing areas of interest.
  • The School offers a number of hands-on, experiential learning opportunities such as travel/study Winterim program, boat building, sign language, rock & jazz band, videography & photography, and the Costa Rican Rain Forest project.
  • Litchfield is a small, rural town located in the hills of northwestern Connecticut, two hours from New York and two and a half hours from Boston.
  • LD types supported: Dyslexia/Language based LD
  • School accreditations: New England Association of Schools and Colleges
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 437 students 23.3 miles10 Main Street
    CheshireCT 06410
    2034397250
    23.39-12, PG437
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 400 students 89.1 miles39 School Street, P.O. Box 8000
    AshburnhamMA 01430
    978-827-7300
    89.19-12, PG400
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 320 students 16.4 miles101 Aspetuck Avenue
    New MilfordCT 06776
    (860)210-3832
    16.49-12, PG320
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 862 students 28.6 miles333 Christian Street
    WallingfordCT 06492
    203-697-2239
    28.69-12, PG862
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 288 students 10.9 miles99 Green Hill Road
    WashingtonCT 06793
    860-868-7334
    10.99-12, PG288
Recent Articles
Choosing a School: Comparing Schools
September 28, 2017
Use a spreadsheet to develop your initial list of schools. Here's how.
How Can an Educational Consultant Help with a Boarding School Search?
September 28, 2017
Finding the right boarding school for your child is one of the most important and expensive decisions you will ever make.
The St. Grottlesex Schools
September 05, 2017
Generous financial aid and a commitment to diversity are hallmarks of the 21st century release of St. Grottlesex. More here.
Featured Schools
Request Information
I am a:
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Country of Citizenship:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone: