Wasatch Academy

5.00 5 1 (4 reviews)
Tel: 435-462-1400
120 South 100 West
Mt. Pleasant, UT 84647
previous
Wasatch Academy, founded in 1875, is a 'Best of State' in education among all Utah private K-12 schools for 7 consecutive years. The school is located in a safe rural community with fresh air and clean water, surrounded by pristine national parks, cultural activities, and outdoor opportunities.
next
Wasatch Academy, founded in 1875, is a 'Best of State' in education among all Utah private K-12 schools for 7 consecutive years. The school is located in a safe rural community with fresh air and clean water, surrounded by pristine national parks, cultural activities, and outdoor opportunities.
Teamwork, dedication, and sacrifice are key components of our athletic programs. Participation in athletics promotes good health but also teaches invaluable life lessons. Through athletics, students learn to develop confidence, self-discipline and leadership skills while learning the value of collaboration. Athletics allow students the opportunity to work together in accomplishing defined goals.
Friendship Circle is an annual tradition at Wasatch Academy. At the start of each new school year, the student body, faculty & staff gather on the 'quad' for a meet & greet.
Each weekend students have the opportunity to participate in trips ranging from climbing in a nearby canyon, to rappelling off an arch in Moab, rafting on the Colorado river, hiking in Zion National Park, relaxing in a hot spring, or enjoying S'mores around a campfire with new friends.
Dorm Life - Each of our seven dorms are similar to the students; each is unique and has its own personality. Our dorms are a home away from home where students from around the world learn to live together and form friendships that will last a lifetime
Joy and inspiration provide the foundation for the Wasatch Academy learning experience. This helps students develop into lifelong learners and future innovators.Teachers use a variety of classroom strategies and commit to a wide variety of activities that allow every student to find their own pathway to success.
The Wasatch Academy outdoor program utilizes the marvels of Utah's wilderness areas and National Parks to set students on a path of fun, adventure and self-reliance.
Acting students focus on voice, diction, oral interpretation, and creating characters through scene work from various playwrights. Scenes are prepared for school productions and The Utah Shakespeare Festival's High School Competition and the Utah State High School Association Drama Competition.
Our classes include colorful and engaging demonstrations that help students develop observational and critical-thinking skills.
In our Equestrian Program students can choose from: English Competition Team, Western Competition Team, and our Recreational Riding group.  Students of all skill and experience levels can have fun, learn, and thoroughly enjoy the equine experiences our program offers.
  • ''Wasatch Academy is a co-ed college preparatory boarding school located in Mt. Pleasant, Utah.
  • Our global campus brings together students from more than 40 countries and more than 30 states.
  • At Wasatch Academy, our students are guided to become ethical citizens of the world while getting prepared for college.
  • Throughout the year, they take advantage of a beautiful setting in the heart of Utah, surrounded by several national parks and unique outdoor opportunities.
  • In addition, every weekend students have the opportunity to attend several cultural and sports events in nearby Salt Lake City.
  • Our students are provided with the highest academic atmosphere while being instructed by committed faculty that care about their success, in and outside of the classroom.
  • At Wasatch Academy, our goal is to prepare students to live in a globalized 21st century world.
  • Our student body learns alongside peers with a diverse array of perspectives, languages and cultures.''.

Alumni Reviews
  Review School

  • Review Description

  • Class of 2012
    5 Stars   7/22/2013
    Cornell College
    Rural area, international environment, attentive staff and faculty, student-focus activities-those are what Wasatch is praised for but what really impressed me was a speech given on Founder's Day about our endowment. Mr Loftin (school headmaster). . .

  • Class of 2011
    5 Stars   8/7/2012
    Brandeis University
    Wasatch Academy's location in central Utah definitely adds a very unique feel to the school Even though Mt. Pleasant is a rural town, the proximity to Provo and SLC allows students to get the best. . .

  • Class of 2004
    5 Stars   7/11/2004
    The Wharton School at The University of Pennsylvania
    While at Wasatch Academy I debated within a circuit of international independent schools; accordingly, I gained knowledge of a number of other private (boarding) secondary institutions. In the following answers, I draw upon several. . .

  • Class of 1991
    5 Stars   5/9/2007
    Westminster College
    During my time at WA, it felt like the entire staff were my mentors, and supporters to do well in school, athletics and life in general. From the teachers, to my Dorm Parent, to. . .
  • Show more reviews (-1 reviews)

Top 20 Placements

Listed among the top 20 boarding schools (out of 329 schools) for:

Definition of Terms 
2017 School Data
Wasatch AcademyBoarding School Avg.
School FocusCollege PrepCollege Preparatory
Grades Offered8-12, PG9-12
School TypeCo-edCo-ed
Supports Learning Differences (LD)YesYes
Religious AffiliationNon-denominationalNon-denominational
Year Founded18751910
Campus Size40 acres105 acres

Student Body

Enrollment340 students300 students
% Students of Color
24%
20%
% International Students
40%
20%
% Students Boarding
90%
66%
Average SAT Scoren/a* National Avg. »View
Offers Post-Grad YearYesNo

Academics and Faculty

Saturday ClassesNoNo
Classroom Dress CodeCasual
(Dress Casual)
Casual
Average Class Size9 students12
*National School Avg. » 20
Teacher : Student Ratio1:101:7
# of AP / Advanced Courses Offered1716
ESL Courses OfferedYesYes
% Faculty with Advanced Degree
60%
70%
Summer Program OfferedYesYes

Finances

Endowment Size$2 million$17 million
Yearly Tuition
(Boarding Students)
$54,900$52,700
Yearly Tuition
(Day Students)
$30,000$28,270
Tuition international students$59,900$47,000
Yearly Tuition
(5 Day Boarding)
$51,900$37,945
Merit Scholarships OfferedNoNo

Admission

Application DeadlineJan. 15 / rollingJan. 15
Accepts Standardized ApplicationYesNo
SSAT RequiredYesYes
Acceptance Rate
70%
57%
Director of AdmissionsErin Nester
Paul Salazar
Associate Director of AdmissionsRebecca Nied

AP / Advanced Courses

# of AP / Advanced Courses Offered1716
Courses AP Biology, AP Calculus AB, AP Calculus BC, AP Chemistry, AP English Language/Composition, AP European History, AP Physics, AP Statistics, AP Chinese Language/Culture, AP Computer Science, AP English Lit/Composition, AP Environmental Science, AP Psychology, AP Spanish Language/Culture, AP Studio Art, AP U.S Government and Politics, AP U.S History

Sports

# Interscholastic Sports Offered2714
SportsAlpine Skiing, Baseball, Basketball, Cheering, Climbing, Cross Country, Cross Country Running, Cycling, Dance, Equestrian, Freestyle Skiing, Golf, Mountain Biking, Nordic Skiing, Paddle Tennis, Riding, Rock Climbing, Ski Jumping, Snowboarding, Soccer, Swimming, Swimming and Diving, Tennis, Track, Track and Field, Ultimate Frisbee, Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total Extracurricular Organizations3323
ExtracurricularsAikido, Amnesty International Club, Art Club, BMX, Camping Club, Choir, Community, Dance Club, Debate Club, Drama Club, Equestrian Club, Fencing Club, Film Club, Games Club, Guitar Club, Hiking Club, International Club, Journalism, Lit, Math Team, Model UN, National, Outdoors, Paintball, Robotics,

School Notes

  • Wasatch Academy is a co-ed college preparatory boarding school located in Mount Pleasant, Utah. Our global campus brings together students from more that 40 countries and more than 30 states in grades 8-12. Maintaining a highly attentive and supportive culture where students exchange global perspectives, Wasatch Academy guides each student to the individual ways he or she learns best.At Wasatch Academy, our students are guided to become ethical citizens of the world while becoming prepared for college. Throughout the year, they take advantage of a beautiful setting in the heart of Utah, surrounded by several national parks and unique outdoor opportunities. In addition, every weekend students have the opportunity to attend several cultural and sport events in nearby Salt Lake City. Our students are provided with the highest academic curriculum while being instructed by committed faculty that care about their success, providing unparalleled individual attention. At Wasatch Academy, our goal is to prepare students to live in a globalized 21st-century world. Our student body learns alongside peers with a diverse array of perspectives, languages and cultures.
  • LD types supported: Yes
  • School accreditations: National Association of Independent Schools, The Association of Boarding Schools, Pacific Northwest Association of Independent Schools
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Grades: 9-12 | 226 students 365.7 miles6155 Fountain Valley School Road
    Colorado SpringsCO 80911
    719-391-5251
    365.79-12226
  • Grades: 8-12, PG | 130 students 358.2 miles1000 Orme School Road, H.C. 63, Box 3040
    MayerAZ 86333
    928-632-7601
    358.28-12, PG130
  • Grades: 3-12

    Pre-K-12 (day)
     | 269 students
    556 miles723 El Paseo Road
    OjaiCA 93023
    (805)646-1423
    5563-12

    Pre-K-12 (day)
    269
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 100 students 467.6 miles235 Squaw Valley Road | P.O. Box 2667
    Olympic ValleyCA 96146
    530-583-9393
    467.69-12, PG100
  • Grades: 9-12, PG

    Pre-K-12, PG (day)
     | 758 students
    1492.1 miles1014 Cave Spring Road, SW
    RomeGA 30161
    706-235-6051
    1492.19-12, PG

    Pre-K-12, PG (day)
    758
Recent Articles
Choosing a School: Comparing Schools
September 28, 2017
Use a spreadsheet to develop your initial list of schools. Here's how.
How Can an Educational Consultant Help with a Boarding School Search?
September 28, 2017
Finding the right boarding school for your child is one of the most important and expensive decisions you will ever make.
The St. Grottlesex Schools
September 05, 2017
Generous financial aid and a commitment to diversity are hallmarks of the 21st century release of St. Grottlesex. More here.
Featured Schools
Request Information
I am a:
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Country of Citizenship:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone: