The Putney School

5.00 5 1 (11 reviews)
Tel: 802-387-6219
418 Houghton Brook Road
Putney, VT 05346
previous
The Putney School is located on a working dairy farm. We value the dignity and relevance of physical work, which shows through our Work Program. Students carry out daily chores, collaborate in teams, learn skills, and sometimes lead crews various areas: Barn, Kitchen, Land-Use, Dining & Maintenance.
next
The Putney School is located on a working dairy farm. We value the dignity and relevance of physical work, which shows through our Work Program. Students carry out daily chores, collaborate in teams, learn skills, and sometimes lead crews various areas: Barn, Kitchen, Land-Use, Dining & Maintenance.
We are not a 'prep' school. While many of our students head off to the top colleges in the country, their experiences at Putney are about engaging material, expanding interests, and gaining tools, not 'preparing' to be somewhere else.
Art is a part of every student's daily life. We take the arts seriously while supporting a spirit of discovery. We offer 20 art forms, including blacksmithing, ceramics, chorus, creative writing, dance, drama, fiber arts, jazz, jewelry, orchestra, Latin dance, photography, sculpture, stained glass & woodworking.
Sustainability is at the center of a Putney education.
It is embedded in our campus, our community,
and our curriculum. We are located on a 500-acre
working dairy farm in southeastern Vermont, this serves as a laboratory and partner for studying the world around us and applying the lessons we learn about ecology, forestry, energy and agriculture.
The community at  Putney is warm, open, mutually respectful and rousing. We come together as a whole school three times per week. Every Thursday is All School Sing (pictured here), a tradition dating back to Putney's founding in the 30's, which spans a fun and eclectic assortment of styles from early American folk music to sea chanteys to Korean traditional
Putney is a co-educational boarding and day school for Grades 9-12 founded in 1935 by Carmelita Hinton. We are a progressive school, in that we value the idea that education is something to be actively pursued rather than passively received. Our commitment to Ms. Hinton's fundamental beliefs have have put Putney at the leading edge of education in America.
  • We are a progressive school, in that we value the idea that education is something to be actively pursued rather than passively received.
  • When students learn by doing rather than being told, they develop confidence, deeper understanding, and resolve.
  • Our continued commitment to Ms. Hinton's fundamental beliefs, and our deliberate choices for our community and curriculum have put Putney at the leading edge of education in America.

Alumni Reviews
  Review School

  • Review Description

  • Class of 2016
    5 Stars   8/28/2017
    Bard College
    My school had a phenomenal work program, where students were expected to complete jobs around the school 6 days a week. These jobs included working on the farm, preparing meals, cleaning up after meals, cleaning. . .

  • Class of 2016
    5 Stars   12/10/2016
    Gap Year
    Putney is a coeducational boarding and day school in Vermont. It values and practices progressive education, and has a diverse and rigorous curriculum. It boasts a strong academic program, along with a work job program. . .

  • Class of 2015
    5 Stars   11/29/2016
    University of Maine
    Hands on discussion based learning as well as a focus on the individual. Relationships between students and teachers were much my friendly. Also real working experience (cooking food, working in the barn). . .

  • Class of 2012
    5 Stars   10/24/2017
    N/A
    Putney is, to summarize, a very unique school. It is extremely progressive, and fosters independence quite well. The classes are mostly discussion based, with not a lot of busy work, and the teachers are competent. . .

  • Class of 2011
    5 Stars   7/12/2012
    Vassar College
    Putney is truly an experience unlike any other; an educational environment that develops strong thinkers and problem solvers. The faculty and core values foster creativity, support independence and growth, and ensure that students at once. . .
  • Show more reviews (6 reviews)
Definition of Terms 
2017 School Data
The Putney SchoolBoarding School Avg.
School FocusCollege PrepCollege Preparatory
Grades Offered9-12, PG9-12
School TypeCo-edCo-ed
Supports Learning Differences (LD)YesYes
Religious AffiliationNon-denominationalNon-denominational
Year Founded19351910
Campus Size500 acres110 acres

Student Body

Enrollment238 students300 students
% Students of Color
14%
20%
% International Students
23%
20%
% Students Boarding
75%
66%
Average SAT Score1725* National Avg. »View
SAT range (25th-75th percentile)1580 - 1890-
Offers Post-Grad YearYesNo

Academics and Faculty

Saturday ClassesYesNo
Frequency of Saturday ClassesWeeklyWeekly
Classroom Dress CodeCasualCasual
Average Class Size12 students12
*National School Avg. » 20
Teacher : Student Ratio1:61:7
# of AP / Advanced Courses Offered1016
ESL Courses OfferedYesYes
% Faculty with Advanced Degree
73%
70%
Summer Program OfferedYesYes

Finances

Endowment Size$24 million$17 million
Yearly Tuition
(Boarding Students)
$56,800$52,760
Yearly Tuition
(Day Students)
$34,300$28,400
% Students on Financial Aid
43%
36%
Avg. Financial Aid Grant$23,000$22,410
Merit Scholarships OfferedNoNo

Admission

Application DeadlineNone / RollingJan. 15
Accepts Standardized ApplicationYesNo
SSAT RequiredYesYes
Director of AdmissionsJohn Barrengos

Course Listings

List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses

Sports

# Interscholastic Sports Offered1014
SportsAlpine Skiing, Basketball, Crew, Lacrosse, Mountain Biking, Nordic Skiing, Rock Climbing, Snowboarding, Soccer, Ultimate Frisbee

Extracurriculars

Total Extracurricular Organizations823
ExtracurricularsAlpine Skiing & Snowboarding, Chamber, Horseback Riding, Literary, Madrigals, Mountain, Orchestra, Yearbook

College Matriculation

Year: 2007 - 201110 Most Popular College Choices  (# Enrolled)
Smith College11
Bard College6
Barnard College6
University of Vermont6
Marlboro College5
Sarah Lawrence College5
Carnegie Mellon University4
Dartmouth College4
Mount Holyoke College4
Rhode Island School of Design4
Link to Matriculation Data

School Notes

  • The Putney School is designed for independent, motivated, and capable students seeking intellectual freedom, responsibility and opportunities for competence in a variety of fields. The school's 500-acre campus is situated on a working Vermont dairy farm that supports a rich curriculum in sustainability. As a progressive school, we think of our curriculum as everything we do. This includes course work, student-driven projects, our Work Program, Afternoons, Evening Arts, independent studies, and off-campus learning opportunities. 
  • LD types supported: Mild Learning Differences
  • Sample of notable school alumni/alumnae:
    • Ted Osius - U.S. Ambassador to Vietnam
    • Wally Shawn - Writer, actor, director
    • Jonathan Schell - Author, The Fate of the Earth
    • Errol Morris - Documentary filmmaker
    • Kerry Kennedy Cuomo - Director Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Center for Hum. Rights
    • Tea Leoni - Actress
    • Tim Weiner - Pulitzer Prize winning journalist
    • Tim Daly - Film, television, and theater actor
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 655 students 22 milesOne Lamplighter Way
    Mount HermonMA 01354
    413-498-3227
    229-12, PG655
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 240 students 10.9 miles10 Long Walk
    Saxtons RiverVT 05154
    8028696229
    10.99-12, PG240
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 859 students 106.5 miles333 Christian Street
    WallingfordCT 06492
    203-697-2239
    106.59-12, PG859
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 1150 students 75.7 miles180 Main Street
    AndoverMA 01810
    978-749-4050
    75.79-12, PG1150
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 399 students 74.5 miles245 North Undermountain Road
    SheffieldMA 01257
    413-229-1003
    74.59-12, PG399
Recent Articles
5 Challenges Parents Face
October 24, 2017
How to handle five basic challenges involved in choosing a boarding school.
Choosing a School: Comparing Schools
September 28, 2017
Use a spreadsheet to develop your initial list of schools. Here's how.
How Can an Educational Consultant Help with a Boarding School Search?
September 28, 2017
Finding the right boarding school for your child is one of the most important and expensive decisions you will ever make.
Featured Schools
Request Information
I am a:
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Country of Citizenship:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone: