Suffield Academy

5.00 5 1 (10 reviews)
Tel: 860-386-4440
Suffield Academy
Suffield, CT 06078
  • "Suffield Academy is an exciting and supportive school. Our dedicated faculty bring talent, compassion, and creativity to their work. Our students bring ambition and vitality to the school's diverse community. We have a strong boarding school tradition-seventy percent of our students live on campus-that balances our core values with the imperatives of change..." Our unique Leadership Program flavors the atmosphere of the school both academically and socially.

Alumni Reviews
  Review School

  • Review Description

  • Class of 2017
    5 Stars   1/16/2018
    Loyola Marymount University
    One of the best things about suffield is the teachers. I had never been to a school where they care so much. I got really close with my advisor and they helped me a great. . .

  • Class of 2016
    5 Stars   10/18/2017
    Northeastern University
    It's centralized location to a (sudo) urban city- Hartford while at the same time maintaining the quintessential large open landscape that boarding schools are known for. . .

  • Class of 2015
    5 Stars   6/1/2017
    Tufts University
    Suffield is an extremely tight-knit community. I knew every single person by name and could hold a decent conversation with almost everyone. The teachers are like second parents who will listen to all of your. . .

  • Class of 2015
    5 Stars   12/3/2016
    University of South Carolina
    Mandatory leadership class Freshman and Sophomore years Mandatory work-job for each student as well as mandatory leadership position for seniors. . .

  • Class of 2014
    5 Stars   12/29/2016
    University of Miami
    I applaud Suffield on several things but perhaps the most important is the way they have modernized. I have attended other schools that stick to the traditional boarding school model and do not stray an. . .
  • Show more reviews (5 reviews)

Top 20 Placements

Listed among the top 20 boarding schools (out of 320 schools) for:

Definition of Terms 
2017 School Data
Suffield AcademyBoarding School Avg.
School FocusCollege PrepCollege Preparatory
Grades Offered9-12, PG7-12
School TypeCo-edCo-ed
Supports Learning Differences (LD)YesYes
Religious AffiliationNon-denominationalNon-denominational
Year Founded18331910
Campus Size340 acres120 acres

Student Body

Enrollment415 students300 students
% Students of Color
17%
20%
% International Students
18%
20%
% Students Boarding
70%
70%
Average SAT Score1920* National Avg. »View
SAT range (25th-75th percentile)1750 - 2150-
Average ACT score28*National Avg. » View
Offers Post-Grad YearYesNo

Academics and Faculty

Saturday ClassesYesNo
Frequency of Saturday ClassesWeeklyLess than once a month
Classroom Dress CodeFormalCasual
Average Class Size10 students12
*National School Avg. » 20
Teacher : Student Ratio1:51:7
# of AP / Advanced Courses Offered1817
ESL Courses OfferedYesYes
% Faculty with Advanced Degree
80%
70%
Summer Program OfferedYesYes

Finances

Endowment Size$50 million$17 million
Yearly Tuition
(Boarding Students)
$59,500$52,850
Yearly Tuition
(Day Students)
$40,500$28,270
% Students on Financial Aid
34%
36%
Avg. Financial Aid Grant$25,595$22,700
Merit Scholarships OfferedYesNo

Admission

Application DeadlineJan. 15 / rollingJan. 15
Accepts Standardized ApplicationYesNo
SSAT RequiredYesYes
Average Percentile SSAT70%-
Acceptance Rate
25%
55%
Director of AdmissionsSean Atkins

Course Listings

List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses

AP / Advanced Courses

# of AP / Advanced Courses Offered1817
CoursesAP Biology, AP Calculus I: AB, AP Calculus II: BC, AP Chemistry, AP Gov't & Politics, AP Macroeconomics, AP Microeconomics, AP Physics C: E&M, AP Physics C: Mechanics, AP Statistics, AP U.S. History, English III Honors, French V Honors, Multivariable Calculus, Spanish V Honors

Sports

# Interscholastic Sports Offered2514
SportsAlpine Skiing, Baseball, Basketball, Climbing, Crew, Cross Country, Dance, Diving, Field Hockey, Football, Golf, Kayaking, Lacrosse, Riflery, Rock Climbing, Snowboarding, Soccer, Softball, Squash, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, Volleyball, Water Polo, Wrestling

Extracurriculars

Total Extracurricular Organizations2723
ExtracurricularsAdmission Tour Guides, Amnesty International Club, Disciplinary Council, Head Waiters, International Student Club, Model UN, Multicultural Association, Peer Tutor, Proctor Program, SAVE, Student Government, TA Program, TREE, Work Program Inspectors, Writing Center Tutor

Club or Organization:
As Schools Match Wits, Chess Club, Fellowship of Christians at Universities and Schools (FOCUS), Gay Straight Alliance (GSA), Jewish Organization of Students, Philosophy Club, The Bell (newspaper, The Pioneer (yearbook), Weekend Activities Committee

Arts and Music Programs:
The Work Job, Tiger Lilies, Tiger Sports Network

College Matriculation

Year: 2009 - 201310 Most Popular College Choices  (# Enrolled)
Trinity College16
Bentley College15
George Washington15
New York University13
University of Vermont13
Santa Clara University12
Gettysburg11
Bates10
SMU10
Boston University9
Link to Matriculation Data

School Notes

  • Suffield Academy offers a challenging and supportive experience for 410 students in grades 9-12. We have a strong boarding school tradition-two-thirds of our students live on campus-that balances tradition and change. Outstanding athletics and arts programs complement our academic offerings. Suffield's Leadership Program is a unique initiative in the independent school world, and a central part of the experience for each student here.
  • LD types supported: Writing Center, Peer Tutors, Academic Support
  • School accreditations: New England Association of Schools and Colleges
  • Sample of notable school alumni/alumnae:
    • Leigh Perkins - President and CEO, Orvis
    • James Tisch - CEO, Loews Corporation
    • Roger Faxon - COO, EMI Music
    • Barry Scherr - Provost, Dartmouth College
    • Archer Mayor - Best-selling mystery writer
    • Vinnie Del Negro - NBA basketball player and coach
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 390 students 10.1 miles995 Hopmeadow Street
    SimsburyCT 06070
    860-408-3060
    10.19-12, PG390
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 690 students 9.3 milesOffice of Admission
    WindsorCT 06095
    860-687-6400
    9.39-12, PG690
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 598 students 40.6 miles11 Interlaken Road
    LakevilleCT 06039
    (860) 435-3102
    40.69-12, PG598
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 859 students 37.5 miles333 Christian Street
    WallingfordCT 06492
    203-697-2239
    37.59-12, PG859
  • Kent School
    (Episcopal)
    Grades: 9-12, PG | 570 students 49 milesPO Box 2006
    KentCT 06757
    860-927-6111
    499-12, PG570
Recent Articles
How To Pay for Boarding School
February 07, 2018
Because paying for boarding school involves so much money, it makes sense to look at all the options available to you.
The Secret To Getting Into Boarding School
December 22, 2017
Actually, there is no secret to getting your child into boarding school. Just a lot of hard work and a heavy commitment of time.
Featured Schools
Request Information
I am a:
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Country of Citizenship:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone: