Holderness School

5.00 5 1 (4 reviews)
PO Box 1879
Plymouth, NH 03264
Tel: 603-536-1747
previous
Our alumni consistently tell us that our student run Job Program was formative for their future success, noting proudly that they were supervisors, event planners, and project managers before they even graduated  high school.
next
Our alumni consistently tell us that our student run Job Program was formative for their future success, noting proudly that they were supervisors, event planners, and project managers before they even graduated  high school.
Our Snow Sports program is among the best in the nation, and we regularly send our skiers and snow boarders to the podium.
At Holderness, energy and ambition are prerequisites; passion and accomplishment are the results.
Holderness is just a few miles from the slopes of Cannon Mountain, Loon Mountain, and Waterville Valley.  Our Snow Sports athletes also train in Switzerland, Colorado, Utah and California - just to name a few.
In the Holderness classroom each student is??literally??in the front row, with an average class size of 12. We offer AP courses spanning multiple disciplines, and encourage students to pursue an intellectual passion of their own in their twelfth-grade year as part of the Senior Thesis program.
Even casual visitors to Holderness are struck by how often they hear ??hello?' in the buildings and on the walkways.
Our girls' field hockey team has been to the finals of the NEPSAC tournament every year for the last twenty-two years -- a tradition that's hard to beat.
Our athletics programs provide for the highest levels of participation at several levels of competition.This means that each Holderness student receives dedicated training and coaching in as many as three sports per year, wears a Holderness uniform, and regularly represents the school. Nobody stands on the sidelines.
We have a ratio that you won?'t hear about at any other school ?? 8:1.  That?'s what we call a ??ratio for relationships?' - a ratio that means that for every eight students in a dormitory there is one faculty member to support, guide and mentor them.
We think that great things happen when students work alongside practicing artists. They learn not only to speak and understand the language of the arts, but how the arts can break down barriers??between people, and inside them.
  • Holderness School is an independent boarding school, grades 9 - 12, for academically minded students with a love of the outdoors.
  • We are located in beautiful Holderness, NH in the heart of ski country.
  • Visit our website to fill out an online inquiry and give us a call or email to schedule a campus visit!.

Alumni Reviews
  Review School

  • Review Description

  • Class of 2016
    5 Stars   11/29/2016
    St. Joesephs
    The one thing about Holderness that I thought was incredibly unique, and one of my favorite aspects of the school, is the sense of community. I don't think I've ever been as close to a. . .

  • Class of 2010
    5 Stars   12/3/2016
    Roger Williams Universtiy
    The teachers always went above and beyond to not only be a strong teacher but also friends with many of the student, this became strong on during Outback and other Special Programs trips where students. . .

  • Class of 2005
    5 Stars   11/28/2016
    Trinity College (CT)
    The four years that I spent at Holderness were, without a doubt, the most enjoyable and most transformative years of my life. I have worked at three different independent schools since college and it. . .

  • Class of 1980
    5 Stars   10/29/2016
    Boston University
    The mandatory work program for every student and the balanced mix of academic, athletic, and art exposure required developed ability to focus. . .
  • Show more reviews (-1 reviews)
Definition of Terms 
2016 School Data
Holderness School Boarding School Avg.
School Focus College Prep College Preparatory
Grades Offered 9-12, PG 9-12
School Type Co-ed Co-ed
Religious Affiliation Episcopal Non-denominational
Year Founded 1879 1910
Campus Size 620 acres 110 acres

Student Body

Enrollment 280 students 300 students
% Students of Color
11%
20%
% International Students
19%
20%
% Students Boarding
86%
68%
Average SAT Score 1800 * National Avg. »View
Offers Post-Grad Year Yes No

Academics and Faculty

Saturday Classes Yes No
Frequency of Saturday Classes Weekly Less than once a month
Classroom Dress Code Formal Casual
Average Class Size 12 students 12
*National School Avg. » 20
Teacher : Student Ratio 1:7 1:7
# of AP / Advanced Courses Offered 19 16
ESL Courses Offered No Yes
% Faculty with Advanced Degree
70%
70%
Summer Program Offered No Yes

Finances

Endowment Size $60 million $16 million
Yearly Tuition
(Boarding Students)
$58,500 $51,400
Yearly Tuition
(Day Students)
$38,500 $28,200
% Students on Financial Aid
40%
35%
Avg. Financial Aid Grant $32,300 $21,500
Merit Scholarships Offered No No

Admission

Application Deadline Feb. 1 / rolling Jan. 15
Accepts Standardized Application Yes No
SSAT Required Yes Yes
Average Percentile SSAT 65% -
Acceptance Rate
45%
57%
Director of AdmissionsDavid Flynn
Associate Director of AdmissionsSarah Svindland

Course Listings

List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses

Sports

# Interscholastic Sports Offered 19 14
SportsBaseball, Basketball, Climbing, Cross Country, Cycling, Field Hockey, Football, Freestyle Skiing, Golf, Ice Hockey, Lacrosse, Mountain Biking, Nordic Skiing, Rock Climbing, Ski Jumping, Snowboarding, Soccer, Softball, Tennis

Extracurriculars

Total Extracurricular Organizations 24 23
ExtracurricularsAlliance Club, Blue Key, Community Service Club, Current Events Club, Diversity Club, Dorm Prefects, Drama Club, Environment Club, Fishing Club, Food Club, Habitat for Humanity, Investment Club, Math Team, Multicultural Club, National Honor Society, Outing Club, Peer Tutoring, School Newspaper, Slackline Club, Student Activities, Student Government, Vestry, Work Program, Yearbook

School Notes

  • Holderness is an independent, boarding day school, offering grades 9-12. The combination of the school's focus on community and character and its joyful outdoor spirit are what make it distinctive. Holderness offers a first class preparatory education, along with outstanding snow sports, athletics and arts programs. Our students graduate well educated, resilient, and open-minded, with the skills for a happy and successful life.
  • School accreditations: NEASC, AISNE, ISANNE
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 650 students 96 miles7 Boyden Lane
    DeerfieldMA 01342
    413-774-1400
    969-12, PG650
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 399 students 143.2 miles245 North Undermountain Road
    SheffieldMA 01257
    413-229-1003
    143.29-12, PG399
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 340 students 31.8 miles7 Campus Center, PO Box 188
    MeridenNH 03770
    6034692100
    31.89-12, PG340
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 358 students 26.9 miles80 Academy Drive
    WolfeboroNH 03894
    (603) 569-7200
    26.99-12, PG358
  • Grades: 9-12, PG | 650 students 85.1 milesOne Lamplighter Way
    Mount HermonMA 01354
    413-498-3227
    85.19-12, PG650
Recent Articles
Financing a Boarding School Education
May 25, 2017
Financing a boarding school education can be very confusing for many parents. Here are some strategies to help you understand your options.
What Is Being Taught?
May 25, 2017
You need to know what is being taught before you decide which boarding school is best for you.
Admissions Perspective: Choosing a Boarding School
May 25, 2017
Get admissions officer's Clayton Johnston's perspective on how to choose the best boarding school for you.
Featured Schools
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Country of Citizenship:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone: