Villanova Preparatory School - Review #1

Villanova Preparatory School
5

About the Author:

College Enrolled Claremont McKenna College
Home Town, State (Country) Los Angeles, CA
Years Attended Boarding School 4
Activities During Boarding School Football Manager August, 2013 - November 2016; 12 Hour/week; 45 weeks/ year As the team manager my responsibilities included being the equipment manager, water girl, ball girl, team secretary, and the assistant of the team doctor and the athletic director. I also tutored many of them so that they were academically qualified to play football. Club Leader, Hogar Infantil September, 2013 - May 2017; 7 hours/week; 45 weeks/year We fundraise money for an orphanage in Tijuana. Throughout my involvement in the club, we have fundraised about $45,000, or an average of $11,000 a year. We do this by selling candy grams, hosting dances, and doing bake sales. I have been in charge of the candy gram committee for four years, the dance committee for three years,  and the president of the club for one year. I am one of the most active and fundraise the most, so I get to visit the orphans and hand them the money we have fundraised. At the orphanage we help clean and play with the kids.   Associated Student Body (May 2014- May 2017) Executive Vice President (2016- Present), Junior Class Treasurer (2015- 2016), Sophomore Class Vice- President (2014-2015), worked student store selling snacks for three years, homecoming committee, prom committee   Latino Community Club, Club President, Club Founder (2014- May 2017) Ballet folclórico, annual posada, Mexican bread bake sales, Spanish tutoring. Altar serving (May, 2008 - May 2017) I have been altar serving almost every week since I first did my First Communion. I attendede a catholic school where we have mass every other week. I am the leader of the altar servers, so when someone new wants to altar serve, I am the one who teaches them the process. Student ambassador (September, 2011 - May 2017) I gave tours to many people throughout my high school and middle school careers. Many of the tours I gave were to Spanish speaking families who had a low income. Although it might not seem like a big deal, it really changed me because I was able to realize that I am a model for all the kids who struggle economically like I do. I am glad that my bilingualism can help inspire others. I hope that I keep inspiring Latino teens and help them realize the opportunity that this world has to offer them. Participation in Spring Musical (January, 2016 - April 2017) For the spring musical during junior year, my school performed The Wizard of Oz. I was a part of the chorus which included the roles of a munchkin, a jitterbug, and a poppy. During the spring of my senior year, my school performed Shrek the Musical where I was the role of Gingy and a part of the Chorus. I also spent countless of hours making costumes, and making the set. California Scholarship Federation (September, 2014 - Present) In order to be a part of this club, we need to have a minimum GPA and certain grades. We need to qualify every semester and re- apply every semester. Fortunately, I have been able to stay in the club ever since first I applied. The club hosted an autism awareness fair in which we invited autistic ki

Reflections and Advice:

1.) What do you think makes your school unique relative to other boarding schools?
No other boarding school is a Catholic(Augustinian), Day and dorm school that offers the international baccalaureate program. You can make friends from nearby and also from around the world. It is great to have a dorm that is mainly international students because you learn so much about different cultures. Because we are a Catholic school, Christian service is required. One of my favorite ways to volunteer was with a club on campus called Hogar Infantil. We fundraised money for an orphanage in Tiuana, Mexico and at the end of the year, we went to visit the kids and hand over the money we fundraised.
2.) What was the best thing that happened to you in boarding school?
This is such a hard question because I truly only remember good things about Villanova. Villanova has impacted me positively in so many ways and has truly shaped me into the person that I am today. The most important thing that I learned while being there is putting myself and my well-being first as well as the importance of self love. I could not have done this without the constant support and love that I received from my peers and staff at Villanova. One of my favorite memories at Villanova was the senior retreat, which I cannot say too much about because it is a surprise! It made me realize how loved I was and it made me appreciate my peers even more than I already did. It truly was a life changing experience.
3.) What might you have done differently during your boarding school experience?
I am an introvert so my first year I stayed inside my dorm a lot. I wish I would have gone out more because I would have felt less lonely since everyone at Nova is so welcoming and inclusive. Do not stay in your room! it will depress you and make you homesick. Go out and make friends. They will soon become your family.
4.) What did you like most about your school?
The community was amazing. There was always someone there to help me whenever I needed someone. I had never cried so much until we went on our last retreat and on graduation. It really hurts to leave your family, specially when we were all going in separate paths.
5.) Do you have any final words of wisdom for visiting or incoming students to your school?
Go star gazing while you are on campus. It is such a stress reliever and it is so beautiful. I am from the city so I never experienced that.

Academics:

1.) Describe the academics at your school - what did you like most about it?
Villanova is an International Baccalaureate school which means that we offer IB courses. All of our courses are college prep since we are a preparatory school. We also offer honors and AP classes. Our academics are pretty rigorous, but students have the opportunity to still be involved and play sports. Villanova does a great job in preparing you for the academic rigor of college. The teachers are amazing, kind and understanding. They are part of our family, so you get really close to them.

Athletics:

1.) Describe the athletics at your school - what did you like most about it?
We are a school of student athletes. EVERYONE can join a sport no matter how bad or good you are. There are only tryouts for varsity in certain sports, but if you do not make it into varsity, there is always JV. Sports teams are very close. An athletes priority is school so they must maintain good grades or they will be on academic probation. We have a twitter account (@VPRAGECAGE) for our sports, which I had the honor of running for two years.

Art, Music, and Theatre:

1.) Describe the arts program at your school - what did you like most about it?
Everyone can do theatre and be in the musical and play. I cannot sing or act for that matter, but I got a lead role, Gingy, in Shrek the musical. We have an outside amphitheater where we put on our musicals which is very neat.

Extracurricular Opportunities:

1.) Describe the extracurriculars offered at your school - what did you like most about it?
Everyone can get involved in everything. No one is excluded and it is not competitive. Most of the club meetings are during lunch, which can be a downside to some people, but I did not mind. It is very easy to start your own club. Volunteer opportunities: Hogar Infantil Project Africa Interact Club Campus Ministry Music Ministry Altar Serving Lector (reading at mass) Other clubs/extra curriculars: CERT ASB Yo-Yo club Filipino club Latino Community Asian club (I cannot remember the name) dance club Mock trial JSA Astronomy Club Chess club STEM club Environmental club Art Club Whiffleball club Music club Poetry Out load International day dancing (Mexico and Philippines) Talent show and much more!

Dorm Life:

1.) Describe the dorm life in your school - what did you like most about it?
The girls dorms are very big. The boys dorms are not as big but they are better than most college dorms. The one complaint that I do have, and even the dorm staff hates, is that we have to pay for laundry, but I believe that that is the case at all institutions. The girls dorm and the boys dorm are separate and we are not allowed in each others room, but we have many other places to hang out. My favorite part of the dorm, besides its big rooms, is our bon fire pit, our resource center(study space), and the girls dorm lobby.

Dining:

1.) Describe the dining arrangements at your school.
The food is amazing and the cooks are the kindest people you will ever meet. They became some of my best friends and mentors throughout my high school experience. They gladly took our food suggestions because they are aware that the dorm is our home.

Social and Town Life:

1.) Describe the school's town and surrounding area.
Although there is not much to do in California, the dorm always does its best to show you the best of southern California with the organization of trips form Santa Barbara to Los Angeles. Ojai does have great restaurants, but other than that, you need to go out of town.
2.) Describe the social life at your school - what did you like most about it?
Everyone at Nova is unique in their own way. Everyone knows everyone and everyone is kind. Although there are people who sit together at lunch or hang out, no one is excluded; it does not feel clique-ish. There is a stronger sense of family within the dorm because you will live with one another, but Villanova as a whole is a family, form teachers to dorm staff to students. I never felt un-loved or excluded.

Daily Schedule:

Weekday
8:00 AMIB English SL
9:30 AMIB PSychology
11:00 AMAP government
12:45 AMLunch with ASB meeting
1:30 PMAP statistics
3:00 PMFootball practice (football manager)
5:30 PMdinner
7:00 PMStudy Hall
9:00 PMSnack, play soccer, hangout
11:00 PMlights out
Weekend
10:00 AMBrunch
12:00 AMPool
3:00 PMTrip to nearby shopping center
7:00 PMstudy hall
9:00 PMcapture the flag in the dark

Alumni Reviews
  Review School

  • Review Description
  • Claremont McKenna College
    No other boarding school is a Catholic(Augustinian), Day and dorm school that offers the international baccalaureate program. You can make friends from nearby and also from around the world. It is great to have a. . .
Recent Articles
The Secret To Getting Into Boarding School
April 20, 2018
Actually, there is no secret to getting your child into boarding school. Just a lot of hard work and a heavy commitment of time.
What's Wrong With The Boys?
March 22, 2018
Some cynics think single-sex education is old-fashioned. The Kiski School shows how educating boys in a single-sex school is successful.
Only In Boarding Schools
March 08, 2018
The wide range of fine academic, athletic, and other facilities found in boarding schools underscores the determination of schools to provide the very best for their students.